Thinking of Thanksgiving Already

I can’t believe it is October already.  The weather is getting slightly cooler here in the Sunshine state, and the next few months are what Floridians (and transplants) look forward to all year long.  Instead of the leaves changing colors, this time of year is perfect for sunsets on the beach, marathons, music festivals, and canoe trips on the river.

My husband (dear readers, his name is Dave, and from this point on I’ll refer to him by name.  thanks) and I always go to his parents house on the East Coast of Florida for Thanksgiving.  I remember when we were just dating, and we went to their house for Turkey Day (we’ll call this Year #1).  I was a wee bit worried about what I was going to get fed.  I didn’t want to  make a big deal about my dietary choices on my first meeting of his parents.  We were also dining with about 15 other “old people” who like to ask in their best old person accent, “Veag-in.  What’s a Veag-in?”   When I explain to them that I don’t eat meat or dairy, they just shake their head in disgust, “young people today.”  It wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be.  My (now) mother-in-law did a good job feeding me.  She went to Whole Foods and got me some Thanksgiving inspired items, and I was a happy camper.

Year #2 and by this time Dave and I were engaged.  I felt a little more entitled now to come armed with my own Tofurkey Feast to their house.  This time I brought an enticing vegan pie that even the “old people” couldn’t resist.  I had George, the neighbor across the street, eating Vegan chocolate pie leftovers for breakfast.  Little did he know that it was made with silken tofu.  I laughed to myself every time they took a bite of the pie at the dinner table.  If my father-in-law, the tough Marine, knew he was eating tofu he might just pass out right then and there.

Year #3 Thanksgiving and by this time Dave and I are married and my mother-in-law has this holiday down.  The only difference this year is that now my brother in law and sister in law are in town for the celebration.  And they eat gluten free.  So imagine his poor mom.  She has to satisfy vegan and gluten free eaters.  She did great though.   I still brought my favorite fall soup (roasted garlic, apple and butternut squash)  and a dessert (vegan mint chocolate pie).

So all this reminiscing and all I really wanted to talk about were some recipes I’ve been browsing lately.  There are perfect for the upcoming holiday season.  Enjoy.

What about 15 Main Course Ideas?
from the Healthy Happy Life

Fillo Purses with Vegan Stuffing
from the Healthy Happy Life


Quinoa and Red Lentil Cutlets
from the FatFree Kitchen


Roasted Veggies
from the FatFree Vegan Kitchen

Sweet Potato Casserole with Pecan Topping
from the FatFree Vegan Kitchen

Easy Pumpkin Pie
from the Healthy Happy Life

(For the morning after)
Pumpkin and Raisin Biscuits
from the FatFree Vegan Kitchen

Dear Readers, (if you are even out there)

What do you plan on serving for Thanksgiving?  Do you have any yummy recipes saved that you want to share with me (us?!?)?

Enjoy your weekend. I have a a “hilly” run planned tomorrow with my friend Jena, and then I’m excited to go to Tampa Bay’s 1st Annual Vegetarian Festival.  On Sunday, Dave and I are going to the St. Petersburg Folk Festival.   I can’t wait to enjoy great music with my hubby!  I need more live music in my life…. especially in festival form!

Eat, live, be WELL -
Carolyn

6 Comments

Filed under Holiday

6 responses to “Thinking of Thanksgiving Already

  1. Mmm…Thanksgiving. You’ve got me excited just thinking about it. For the last 5 or 6 years, we’ve had it at our house. I always cook a big turkey, although I don’t eat it myself. Never been a fan- I am all about the Thanksgiving sides! Luckily, my (almost vegan) mother-in-law is as veggie crazy as me, and between us we make about 15 sides. We always have butternut squash and roasted beets side dishes, along with a bunch of the traditional ones, and then we just have fun trying out new ones every year. I guess it’s time to start thinking of which ones I want to try Thanksgiving!

    BTW, the lentil and quinoa cutlets look so good and so does the roasted veggies with the brussel sprouts!!!

  2. Yes, the cutlets look great. I think I need a pre-Thanksgiving cook-a-thon so I can make all my vegan dishes before hand to test out!

    I can’t bring too much to my in-laws because they only have so much refrigerator space. :(

    Do share your ideas when you have a menu planned out!

    Enjoy your weekend. I’m in LOVE with this weather!!!

  3. Pingback: Yay for Saturday! | Life is Beachy Keene

  4. OMG! Those cutlets look so good! I am making those this week! Thanks for the awesome recipes!

  5. Ack, these holidays always come on too soon… I need to get planning, asap. I have no clue what I’m making yet, but these all sound like great (and inspiring) options!

Leave a Reply

