How to Make Black Beans from Scratch

You can save lots of money buying black beans in bulk and cooking them in batches.  This recipes makes enough beans so you can freeze half and enjoy the rest for leftovers.

Things You’ll Need:
  • 4 cups dried black beans
  • Large pot& lid
  • 10 cups water
  • Spices, such as bay leaves,  oregano and whatever you fancy
  • Spoon
  • 1 chopped onions
  • 6 crushed garlic cloves
  • Ladle
  • Salt and pepper to taste
Directions:

1. Rinse 4 cups dry black beans and pick through and discard and foreign objects.

2.  Add black beans to a large pot covering with 3-4 inches of cold water.  Cover and let sit overnight.

3.  Drain the soaked beans, rinse, and place the beans back in the large pot.

4.  Fill the pot with 10 cups of water, 3 bay leaves, and any other dried spices you desire.  Stir the bean mixture.

5.  Bring the mixture to a boil, then reduce to a simmer for 30-90 minutes or until beans are soft.

6.  Saute 1 chopped onions  and 6 crushed garlic cloves in olive oil, and add them to the pot of beans. Remove the bay  leaves  if you used them. Remove excess water from the pot of beans using a ladle, leaving enough to cover a ½ inch above the beans. Simmer the bean mixture on low for an hour or until it thickens.

7.  Season with Salt and Pepper and enjoy!

Vegan Mofo, Take 1
I made a big pot o’ beans yesterday, and we ate black bean burritos for dinner.

I stuffed a whole wheat tortilla with roasted red pepper hummus, spinach, matchstick carrots, and a generous amount of black beans.  I topped them with a tomato enchilada sauce I found on clearance at the health food store, and baked them for 15 minutes at 400 degrees.

DSCN3819

Steamed broccoli for a side, and we enjoyed a yummy dinner.

I ate every last bite on my plate…

And then it was time for dessert.

Pumpkin Pie! More on that tomorrow!

Eat well,
Carolyn

6 Comments

Filed under Beans, Main Course

6 responses to “How to Make Black Beans from Scratch

  1. I love the idea of hummus tucked into a burrito with all those other goodies. I’m totally going to try that soon. I have stuff to make black bean burritos too, but I’m out of tahini :( Next time!

    • Hi Tasha- the hummus added a nice creamy texture to the
      burritos, and since I didn’t use any cheese in the filling, it was a nice addition. First time testing that out and it worked well.

  2. Pingback: My favorite recipes | Eat Well. Live Well. Be Well.

  3. Sbstian

    You have pretty face :) Great recipe. I googled black beans to see if I was missing something and it looks like I’ve got everything for my black beans.

  4. Judy Fifer

    what was the recipe for the pumpkin pie? judy.fifer@yahoo.com

  5. Hi there, I’m a long time vegetarian, recent convert to vegan-ism. I’m always looking for new vegan recipes, and so was very glad to find your blog. As you can imagine I have a lot of experience with beans, but finding variations on my standard recipes allows me to have more variety, and as the saying goes, variety is the spice of life. The recipe you posted here looks great; I expect to try it just as soon as I’ve cooked up some black beans.. I’ve just subscribed to your blog.

Leave a Reply

