Veggie Pasta “Recipe” (and ramblings about Books)

This veggie pasta was an impromptu meal.  Actually, I prefer every time I cook for it to be that way.  Making a yummy meal is fun – following a recipe is too rigid for me and doesn’t allow me any cooking creativity.  I never end up following it anyways, which might be part of the problem I have when cooking from recipes.  This doesn’t stop me from browsing numerous Vegan cookbooks and drooling over recipes though.

<Start of random rant>

I’m a big advocate of the library.  The knowledge that is found in that place is powerful.  I hope actual books never get replaced by a digital format.  I’m afraid I might be losing that battle though.  (I will not be buying a Kindle – thank you very much.  And if I do buy an iPad it won’t be to load digitial books onto.)  Can you imagine what a library will look like in 20 years?  Geez, it might only be 10 before you walk in and there are no books to be found only computer screens where you get a digital copy of a book.  Freaky.  Have you ever read Margaret Atwood’s Oryx and Crake?  Margaret Atwood is my favorite author.  Check out this book from your local library.  It is pretty cool.   And scary about where the fate of this world is going.  I also really like The Handmaid’s Tale .  So grab that one while you are there too.  FREE KNOWLEDGE.  Free entertainment.  (Sadly, I left my library book at home, and now I’m stuck at the airport waiting on a delayed flight.  To celebrate the occasion I bought two “trash” magazine – actually I got one free since I’m a frequent customer to airport magazine stands!  By “trash” I mean People and Woman’s Health!!!  This type of mindless reading is nice when I’m traveling!)

Okay, the library rant started because I often visit the library.  This week I got two vegan cookbooks – Vegan Brunch and  The Vegan Table – and two books on gardening in Florida.  The gal who writes Vegan Brunch (Isa Chandra Moskoqitz) also writes Veganonicom.  This book is good, but lacks pictures – which I LOVE in cookbooks.  I don’t think I’ll be making any recipes from it since I’m not big on the breakfast scene.  The second book, The Vegan Table , has some pictures and is very informative.   There are recipes for parties of 2, 4-6, and bigger groups.  Perfect for entertaining.   I found a yummy Red Velvet cake recipe that I plan on trying sometime in the next few weeks.   Hopefully this goes well.  Like I said, I don’t follow recipes very well, and I’m not confident in my baking abilities.  Baking is a big science experiement – with things reacting and hopefully not exploding – unless that is your aim with a molten lava cake!   I was never very good at science.  I’m an English Major – I make things with my thoughts and words!

<end random rant>

Okay, onto last night’s dinner…. Veggie Pasta

The ingredients as I used them (with notes):

1 bag of Hodgson Mill veggie rotini
1 cup of carrots – julienne
1 red pepper – julienne
1/2 cup of spinach (I would really like to use 1 -2 cups though but I was all out!)
1 cup of tomatoes – diced
1 cup of brocolli ( I used 1/2 cup of frozen since that was all I had)
7 cloves garlic (I would use up it to 10-12 – but that is because I love garlic)
3-5 tbs of EVOO (for cooking and then for coating the pasta)

Bring a pot of water to a boil, add the rotini, stir vigorously until it comes back to a boil, simmer for 10-12 minutes.  Strain.

Prepare your veggies.  The more the merrier.

Saute your garlic in 2 tbs of EVOO

Add the carrots and peppers (and broccoli if it is fresh).

Once the carrots and peppers are cooked, add the spinach and broccoli (if it is frozen).

Toss the pasta with the veggies and add extra EVOO to coat the pasta if needed.

I served the pasta with a lavish flat bread from Sami’s bakery.

Well, looks like 2 hours later, my flight is ready to board!

Be well,

Carolyn

1 Comment

Filed under Main Course

One response to “Veggie Pasta “Recipe” (and ramblings about Books)

  1. Pingback: Unofficially-Officially Here! « Life is Beachy Keene

Leave a Reply

