Why run? (Roving Marathon Report)

My friend Michael Browning who I used to run with at Sarasota’s Fleet Feet now writes a very witty article for the shop’s newsletter called “Roving Marathon Reports… by Michael.”  All his articles crack me up.  I guess you have to either know Michael or have something in the article ring true.

Enjoy the “Roving Marathon Report”…. Why Run?

Greetings Sarasota Runners:
A couple of months ago Pat asked me to contribute as the Roving Reporter.  Why she choose that title was a mystery to me, but be that as it may, I agreed to give it a go even though writing requires use of cognitive skills, a certain dedication and reliability – all qualities I tend to lack.  Be that as it may, I am giving it a stab.
Why run?  Well, some people have a natural gift.  As children we run from adults and as teenagers and adults some people run from the police.  Why not put these skills to good use, I figured, even after the above reasons became irrelevant with age.  I have talked to lots of runners only to find out that they run for none of the above reasons – they run because they actually enjoy it.  I have run a statistical analysis* on why non-fleeing felons run and found the following seem to be the top reasons for running:
  1. They decided they need to get the heck out of the house to avoid their husband, wife, girlfriend, boyfriend or any combination thereof.
  2. They decided they were lonely and running might be a way to meet other lonely people;
  3. It is less boring than golf (which really isn’t a sport anyway);
  4. It requires no ball; and
  5. A bunch of other reasons I can’t remember.
Whatever your reasons for running are, there are a few things you really have to keep in mind – the most important of which is setting goals and having a mentor.  I will refer to both many times over the course of the next several months.  Anyway, my first mentor, Johnny Four Fingers, was not a runner, but the one who told me I had to have goals in life and this was a tremendous help to me. I am proud to say that I was able to achieve almost all of my goals before I was 40 which lead to the important thing – self esteem.  Running is about building self esteem – that was the lesson Johnny Four Fingers was really teaching me.  Thus the first thing when starting to run is set realistic goals.  It helps to have a running coach.Choosing a coach will be covered in the next segment.  Until then I will leave you with an inspirational quote from that famous Philosopher, Yogi Berra: “You’ve got to be very careful if you don’t know where you’re going, because you might not get there.”
Michael, the Roving Reporter

Michael Browning is an attorney and is President of New Moon Management Group in Key West, Florida. He is often spotted in Sarasota, spending time with his kids and running with Fleet Feet.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

