Fresh Tomato Sauce Recipe

Nothing is better than opening the mail box to the latest issue of Vegetarian Times.  I immediately browse for the best recipes and start marking pages.  Honestly, I normally end up making one or two new recipes from each magazine and then just post the rest on here  in my “virtual recipe organizer.”

I normally don’t eat pasta much, but my husband likes it.  It  is so easy to make, so on those nights I just don’t feel like turning on the oven or making something complicated, pasta it is.  I’m opposed to canned tomato sauce because normally it has some sort of  corn bi-product in it, ingredients I can’t recognize, and lots of sodium.    If I buy an organic, natural pasta sauce, it would cost me between $6 and $8 a jar, and that is very excessive in my opinion.  Especially when making my own sauce is super easy in my food processor and much healthier!

Enjoy this “Fresh Tomato Sauce” recipe from September 2010’s issue of Vegetarian Times.

Spaghetti with Fresh Tomato Sauce

Serves 4  – 30 minutes of fewer

This easy no-cook tomato sauce calls for parsley, but it can also be made with basil or chopped fresh fennel fronds.

1 cup parsley leaves  (Note:  I used fresh basil instead.)
2 Tbs. garlic-flavored olive oil (Note:  I used regular EVOO, and added 2 cloves of garlic to the recipe)
1 bunch (8) green onions, cut into 2-in. lengths
2 lb tomatoes, quartered (3 large or 5 small tomatoes)
8 oz. dry spaghetti ** (Note:  I used whole wheat spirals)

1.  Pulse parsley with oil in food processor until finely chopped.  Add green onions, and pulse until onions are chopped.  Add tomatoes, and pulse 7 or 8 times, or until chunky sauce forms.  Seasons with salt and pepper, if desired, and let stand to develop flavors while preparing pasta.

2. Cook pasta in large pot of boiling salted water according to package directions.  Drain.  Serve topped with fresh tomato sauce.

** For a raw vegan version of this pasta, spirialize 4 zucchinis.

Eat well,
Carolyn

3 Comments

Filed under Main Course

3 responses to “Fresh Tomato Sauce Recipe

  1. lifeisbeachykeen

    I am STILL waiting for the Veg Times to come to the office!

    This seems like an easy enough recipe. Is that zucchini next to the pasta? I am on a zucchini kick right now, i am totally loving it. Any good zucchini recipes?

  2. This recipe is VERY easy! Dave wanted his jarred pasta sauce though. But I liked this fresh sauce! It was light and healthy. I think it would be good with nutritional yeast in it (buy at the health food store). It is like the cheese for a vegan. ha!

    Yes, that is zucchini next to the pasta. I cut it in half, rub some oilve oil on it, salt and pepper, and bake for 40-45 minutes at 350 degrees. It is YUMMY!

  3. Pingback: My first time. | Life is Beachy Keene

Leave a Reply

