The Plan Stan

As of right now, three races lie ahead on the horizon – a 5k on Sept. 25th, a sprint tri on Oct. 23rd, and a half marathon on Nov. 21st (there is a possible 5k on Oct. 9th if Dave and I end up traveling to San Antonio for a friend’s wedding).

I have been going back and forth on the half marathon due to plantar fasciitis pain, but I’ve been running quite a bit the past two weeks with no major pain to speak of.  I have an appointment with the podiatrist tomorrow, so hopefully with a clean bill of health, I can proceed with The Plan Stan.

I’ve created my 12 week training plan based on  Hal Higdon’s Sprint Triathlon 2 plan and his  Novice Half Marathon training plan.  Since this training is totally shaking up my current workout routine (and I have a small aversion to change), I’ve incorporated my Master swim team workouts on Tuesday and Thursday nights;  as allowed,  group weight training on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday; and my favorite Saturday morning spin class (followed by coffee/tea with Kristy, Candice, Laura, and Marlo).

So… here is what the next 12 weeks look like in terms of training:

Fall 2010 Training Plan (pdf)
Note:  The image below is broken up in several images. Click each section to enlarge.

Week 1, Day 1 didn’t go as planned as I’ve come down with a cold in the past few days.  I’ve been going, going, going for the past few weeks, and it finally caught up to me last week in San Francisco.  I was sick in bed on Sunday and Monday, and today just barely hit 3.1 miles on the treadmill (9:22 pace) and 30 minutes in the pool (2,000 yards).

I’m hoping tomorrow I feel even better and am ready for the cooler weather and some good races.

What are you looking forward to this fall?  What races are you training for?

Live well,
Carolyn

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “The Plan Stan

  1. Wow, that’s quite the training plan? I just did a 5k and my very first sprint tri. And…I tweaked my knee right before the tri. I was thinking of doing another sprint in a month, but I think, instead, I am going to listen to my 40-year old knees. And take a break.

    So, just back to more core work, lifting, yoga, swimming, biking to work, and running as much as the knee allows.

    Last year/early this year did two 1/2 marathons, and a 10-miler. The hips need a break. 🙂

    • Hi Marcia,
      I totally agree with taking things easy. Running is hard on the body. I told myself I was sticking to the 5ks, but somehow I couldn’t resist the Woman’s Magazine Half Marathon in St. Petersburg. I have a lot of girl friends running it, and I hear the course is beautiful. If I ran the 5k, I would miss out on the scenery.

      I think after that, I’m with you, break time. Swimming, cycling, spinning, lifting, etc. I was super big into yoga (bikram) for a few years, but have kinda gotten out of it. I bet it would do my body good to have a good stretch. Maybe I should look into adding a night of pilates or yoga in there.

      As Shikara said, “the hips don’t lie.” (I can’t believe I just wrote that.) So yeah, enjoy the run-free time!

      Carolyn

  2. lifeisbeachykeen

    Your plan looks good! You are super organized!

    Are you back from all your trips?

    • I am back for a few days. I’m going camping in Missouri this weekend with some of my Peace Corps girl friends. Then after that, I’m home for a few weeks! Super excited for this trip, but ready to be here (not every where else).

  3. Pingback: Wowser! | Life is Beachy Keene

  4. Mitzi

    Great training schedule! I had mine all planned out then ended up changing a few races, thus screwing up my schedule. Now I don’t want to even look at it anymore. lol 😉 Still plugging away though at those miles. Hope your foot pain stays at bay. Good luck Carolyn!

  5. Pingback: Steps to Success (Self-Discipline… do you have it?) « Eat Well. Live Well. Be Well.

  6. Pingback: Training Check-In & Zoo Run Run Recap « Eat Well. Live Well. Be Well.

  7. Pingback: Triathlon Review « Eat Well. Live Well. Be Well.

Leave a Reply

