Roasted Delicata Squash and Tomatoes over Spinach Pesto Pasta

There are times when making “the usual” is just easier than following a recipe.  Then there are times when a new recipe actually ends up being easier than  “the usual.”  Tonight, the later was the case.  Awesome!

I found this recipe on The Brick Kitchen blog.  I modified the recipe slightly to make it vegan.  It gets 5 stars because my husband liked it, Lucky (our dog) liked it, and I got to use ingredients from my garden.

Enjoy!

Roasted Delicata Squash and Tomatoes over Spinach Pesto Pasta
Veganized from the original recipe at  The Brick Kitchen
serves 2-3

1 medium delicata squash (around 1.5 lbs.), unpeeled, halved lengthwise, seeds removed and cut into 3/4 inch thick crescents
1 tbsp plus 1 tsp olive oil
2 large clove garlic, pressed
kosher salt and fresh ground pepper
1 cup grape tomatoes
2 cups hot, cooked long slender pasta of choice (I used whole grain angel hair, about 1/3 of a box)
nutritional yeast, for serving, if desired

for the pesto:
1 1/2 cups tightly packed baby spinach
1/4 cup loosely packed basil leaves
1/4 cup toasted walnut pieces  (I used raw walnut pieces)
2 tbsp olive oil
1/4 cup nutritional yeast
2 cloves garlic, smashed
2 tbsp water

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Toss squash slices with 1 tbsp olive oil, garlic, a couple pinches of salt and a generous amount of pepper. Spread in a single layer on half of a baking sheet. Toss tomatoes with remaining tsp of oil and a touch of salt. Spread onto other side of baking sheet. Roast for 18 minutes, or until squash is tender and tomatoes have collapsed, flipping squash over halfway through cooking time.

Meanwhile, pulse all pesto ingredients in a food processor until smooth, scraping sides down as needed with a spatula. Toss hot pasta with pesto.

To serve, top pasta with roasted squash and tomatoes and sprinkle with nutritional yeast, if desired.

…. and here is Lucky enjoying some squash.

Yes, she is a beggar.  And yes, we sometimes feed her from the table.

3 Comments

Filed under Main Course

3 responses to “Roasted Delicata Squash and Tomatoes over Spinach Pesto Pasta

  1. I’m so glad you liked and your husband enjoyed it!

    Looks like Lucky is one lucky pup indeed. My dog would be jealous 🙂

  2. Pingback: My favorite recipes | Eat Well. Live Well. Be Well.

  3. This is one of the easiest new recipes I’ve tried in a long time. My son recently went away to college and I’m now only cooking for two. I used one small(ish) delicata (which I have never tried before), roasted romas out of the garden and had leftover cooked beet greens in the fridge that I used instead of spinach. I served with parmesan cheese (vegetarian, but not vegan). Really very elegant recipe.

Leave a Reply

