Training Check-In & Zoo Run Run Recap

Let’s do a little checking in.

This is Week 4 of 12 of “the plan stan,” and I thought I would do a little checking in.  Not that any of you really care, but it helps me stay focused and motivated, so that is what really matters.  I’m almost a third of the way to my half-marathon – feeling healthy and happy!

So how have the past 4 weeks actually played out? I know I talk about being “self-disciplined,”  but let’s face it.  There are sometimes when what I planned out just doesn’t work…. like getting stuck at the St. Louis airport for the night, doing so many ab wheel roll-outs that it hurts to even sit up in bed let alone get my ass up and pound the pavement, or my second cold since I’ve started this whole routine.  Seriously?!?

C’est la vie!

Here is what I’ve actually been able to do, and I feel pretty good about it all.

I feel on track to have two strong races – a sprint tri on Oct. 23rd and a half-marathon on Nov. 21st.  I’m having fun mixing up my routine a bit and spending time running with friends and on the bike.

Zoo Run Run Recap

This past weekend I raced a 5k and PRed by 1 min 45 sec – coming in 4th in my age group at 25:44 (I probably would have gotten 5th in my AG, but right in front of me a guy stopped, got on one knee, and proposed to his lady… who was out for blood to win a medal  To me her reaction wasn’t so much excitement to be engaged, but more like, “why couldn’t you have proposed in .1 miles after I crossed the finish line.”

I ran with my friend Jena helped me stay on track.  See, I sometimes tend to get ahead of myself at the start of the race, going too fast, only to die around mile 2.5.  Jena was like “woah… buddy… slow down.”  Thank you Jena.  I had fun running with you!  I also want to take this opportunity to thank my trusty pal “the garmin 305” for being there to see me finish my first race with him/her/it.  Without you, I would have totally ate it at mile 2.5 (like that lady actually did turning the corner) because I had no idea how fast I was running.

The first mile was along the Hillsborough River, the second mile was a windy run through the Lowery Park Zoo, and mile 3 was a back track along the Hillsborough River.  The course felt almost like an adventure – it was not your typical out and back 5k.

Here are the stats:  (I stopped my watch late, so I’m excluding the last bit)

How is your training coming along? I check in often with my colleague Ed who is training to run across America.  I totally admire his self discipline and focus to go after something so big.  But I’ll stop there.  HA!  Check out his latest blog entry about motivation. TED says that people who tell their goals get the “feel good” accolades upfront so they don’t have anything more to work for.

Do you agree?

I don’t. I found that when I verbalized my goals, I am more likely to stick to them because I don’t want to have to come back with my tail tucked between my legs and say I didn’t achieve what I set out to do.  I’m pretty stubborn like that.

Happy training… or whatever it is you do for fun!

Be well,
Carolyn

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Training Check-In & Zoo Run Run Recap

  1. lifeisbeachykeen

    Great race report!

    I recommitted myself to training starting today. I’ve been slacking majorly. The half is only 8wks away and I need to get down to business. I am in the process of creating a training schedule, I didn’t like Runnerworld, or Hal Higdons.

    Looking forward to our 6mi on Saturday =)

  2. Pingback: Sub 25 – It’s official! « Eat Well. Live Well. Be Well.

Leave a Reply

