Paying it Forward… Road ID & a County Wedding

After falling on my bike a few weeks ago, my friend Ed gifted me with a Road ID.  This little sucker could save my life one day, or in the least as Ed says, it helps him “remember his name on long runs when he becomes delusional.”

You only live once!

Running is supposed to be fun and healthy, and since I don’t want any of you to lose your identity on a run (or sport of your liking), I’m going to pay it forward.  One lovely reader will get their very own Sport Wrist ID in a color of their choosing by simply responding to this post. In the near future, once a few readers respond, I’ll use random generator to select the next owner of a Road ID.  I’ll let you know via email, so be sure to include it.

I’m in no means associated with Road ID, nor are they holding me hostage to promote their product.  I’m simply paying it forward and helping my friends and fellow athletes stay safe on the road.  Plus, who doesn’t love free stuff?

Moving on, to a country wedding affair…

This weekend Dave and I went to Texas for my B.G.F.F.H.S.’s (best guy friend from high school’s) wedding.  He married a beautiful girl from Marion (a small dot on the map), and they had a true country wedding.  What is a county wedding you ask? I’m not really sure, but I think a reception at a dance hall/feed store in St. Hedwig, Texas, double-fisting-Natural-Light-drinking guests, being the only two not wearing cowboy boots & cowboy hats , a bluegrass band, bbq dinner,  and a parking lot full of diesel trucks is a good start.  Not to mention that around 100 people came to the church, but 300 more magically appeared for the party!  We sure had fun!


We also got to explore San Antonio and spent lots of time on the River Walk, at the Alamo, and exploring downtown.  Dave and I really were impressed with the city!  I had been to San Antonio once while in college for a fraternity formal which I don’t remember much of.  I apparently met my best friend there, but she had to remind me of that when we “re-met” in sophomore Spanish class.  It was nice to (re)visit the city through clear eyes, with my husband, on a beautiful Fall day.

The Alamo

 

San Fernando Cathedral built by Canary Islanders brought over by the Spanish in 1731

 

 

I spend lots of time in City Halls for work and even stop by on vacation.

 

The River Walk
Dave and I
We are always hitting up vegan restaurants on vacation. Green was yummy!

We also visited Whole Foods (I’ve just decided that I’m unofficially trying to hit up every one across the country), Whole Earth Provisions, and Chuy’s Mexican Restaurant… all of which started in Austin where I went to university.  I felt like I was in my old stomping ground.  It sure was nice to see lots of Longhorn-wearing-folk and eat more than my share of Mexican food.

With all the chips and salsa that I consumed, I still managed to get an 8 mile run in on Saturday before the wedding, and on Sunday morning I wanted to sleep in and be lazy, but since Dave was going for a run, I decided to join him for 3 miles.  I can never pass up a good sweat session.  Plus who knew that running cured slight hangovers? (Note:  This is just my opinion.  No official research has gone into this finding. )

Okay, the house is a mess, the laundry is over flowing, the dog misses me, and I have dinner to cook.  It’s time to get domestic.

Don’t forget to say hi so you can win a free Road ID.

Be well,
Carolyn

13 Comments

Filed under Travel

13 responses to “Paying it Forward… Road ID & a County Wedding

  1. lifeisbeachykeen

    Ha Ha Ha @ “have to get domestic.”

    You look gorgeous in that dress! I love it!

    Uhm, Hi! … enter me for that Road ID. What if we both are delusional on a long run and I can’t remember you, and you can’t remember me? WTH will we do then?

    Glad you had a good time in TX. The wedding reminds me of a song, and I can’t think of the title. But when I find out what it is, i’ll let you know =)

  2. That TX wedding looks like a blast. I love to experience new and exotic cultures. 🙂

    So glad to know there’s at least one Veg restaurant in TX!!

  3. Jen

    😛 that dress looks familiar and very nice on you as well!

    BTW, paying it forward is totally awesome, you rock.

  4. id love to win a road id 🙂

  5. Carolyn C.

    What a great idea (the road ID). Thanks for the giveaway!

  6. Beth

    I just found your blog today and I’m excited to catch up!

    I’ve thought of buying a Road ID (I know my husband would feel better) so I would love to be entered in the draw. When will the draw be?

  7. The Road ID is on my list for Christmas as I am starting to train for my first 1/2 marathon it is a must now.

    I too am a new reader. Excited to read a blog from another Tampa Bay local.

  8. I have gone back and forth with the Road ID too. That is nice of you to give one away. BTW, those tacos look awesome. Can’t wait to try them. Thanks fo the great posts!

  9. Melissa @ HerGreenLife

    The road ID sounds like a good idea, although at this point I think I’d prioritize getting one for my husband. Since I changed jobs and gave up my daily bike commute, he’s the one out on the road (biking) the most.

  10. Amanda Brown

    Sorry to hear that you fell off your bike. I hope you are alright. Great blog. Please enter me for the RoadID giveaway. I often go hiking with my german shepard Kyler at state parks w/o an id because of no pockets. This seems like a great solution. Also, I promise that I will wear it. BTW if you ever go to hamilton, bermuda there is a great free art gallery within the city hall. DH and I also got a free tour of the city from the mayor’s aid (we made a donation). Glad to know I am not the only one who likes to visit city halls while on vacation.

  11. Pingback: Burr, Baby, Burr! « Eat Well. Live Well. Be Well.

  12. Pingback: A look back at 2010 « Eat Well. Live Well. Be Well.

Leave a Reply

