The Best Vegan Tofu Tacos…


… and I’m even a slight tofu hater.

(I will announce the winner of the RoadID on Wednesday, October 20th. Be sure to say hello to enter to win.)

Yesterday after a delightful 9 miler (stats below) with Jena at Honeymoon Island State Park, I hit up Village Health Market and Tampa’s Whole Foods.  After a wonderful lunch at Village Health Market (California Wrap on a Wheat Wrap in case you are wondering!), I braved Whole Foods at 2 pm on a Saturday for my weekly shopping run.  Remind me never to that again.  That place was full of people checking out the scene, there for the freebies, and to ‘sample’ goodies from the bulk bins.  And not to mention my shopping game was off, so I was running from the soy yogurt  to the produce to the bulk foods back to the tofu.  It was too much.

But I did get some goodies… one of which are these suckers – 365 Organic Blue Corn Taco Shells.

 

Normally if I make tacos, I make them using black beans and serve them in a soft whole wheat tortilla, but I guess yesterday I was living life on the edge.  Since  Dave and I are a big fan of the spicy blue corn tortilla chips from Garden of Eatin “Red Hot Blues” ,  I thought I would give these a try and with tofu this go around.

So here is what we had going on last night – the best vegan tofu tacos accompanied by spicy black beans and a side salad of spinach, tomatoes, and avocados.

If you didn’t know any better you would think that was ground beef spilling from those babies.  Nope, that is tofu, and even for a slight tofu-hater like myself, these tacos were amazing!  Here is the recipe.  Enjoy!

Spicy Black Beans
Serves 4-5

2 – 15 oz. cans of Black Beans, drained (I used 1 can regular black beans and 1 can spicy black beans for extra spiciness)
1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1/4 cup onion, diced
4 gloves garlic, minced
1/2 cup carrots, shredded
1 tomato, diced
1/2 tsp cayenne
salt and pepper to taste

1. Heat oil on medium-high heat in a medium sized sauce pan.  Add garlic and onions and saute for 5-7 minutes until onions are translucent.

2. Stir in the black beans and carrots and cook for 1 minute.

3.  Lower heat to medium-low.  Add tomatoes, cayenne and salt and pepper to taste.  Cook for 5 more minutes.  (You can keep these on the warmer, under a lid, while you cook the tofu)

The Best Vegan Tofu Tacos
Serves 2 (enough to fill 5 taco shells)

1 – 14 oz. package firm tofu, crumbled
1/3 cup onions, diced
1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
2.5 tbsp tamari
1/2 package of taco seasoning (like Wick Fowlers – 1.25oz. )
1 tbsp. nutritional yeast
1/4 cup water
1 lime, juiced
Blue Corn Taco Shells, 1 package
cooking spray

For garnish & Salads:
1/2 cup spinach, chiffonade
1 tomato, diced
1/2 avocado, diced
1/2 lime, juiced

1.  In a medium sized mixing bowl, crumble the tofu into small pieces.  Add in onions and extra virgin olive oil.  Toss to coat well.

2.  Meanwhile, coat a nonstick skillet with cooking spray and heat on high.  When the pan begins to sizzle, add the tofu mixture and stir fry for 1-2 minutes.

3.  Reduce the heat to medium and add the tamari, stirring to coat.

4.  Add 1/2 package of taco seasoning, nutritional yeast and 1/4 cup water.  Stir mixture well.  Cook on medium heat for 25-30 minutes, giving it a nice stir every 5 minutes.  Do not put a lid on the mixture as the moisture needs to evaporate during this process.

5.  After 25-30 minutes, flatten mixture and sprinkle with the juice of one lime.  Cook for 4-5 minutes.  Flip, flatten and cook 4-5 minutes more.

6.  Serve tofu mixture in warmed tacos shells with spinach, tomato, and avocado topping.  Drizzle with fresh lime juice.

What is your favorite toppings for tacos?  Do you prefer soft tacos or hard tacos?  Corn tortillas or flour?
I think a spicy corn salsa would be delicious on these tacos, and while I’m still a sucker for soft tacos, after eating these, I might just opt for hard tacos next go around.

——–

Oh,  here are the 9 miler stats.  While I felt our speed was on, I also felt my breakfast sloshing around in my stomach.  That was the first time eating toast and having tea before a run.  Good thing I practiced that before the big day.  I’ll stick to a cliff bar from here on out.

Happy Sunday!

Be well,
Carolyn

14 Comments

Filed under Main Course

14 responses to “The Best Vegan Tofu Tacos…

  1. Ed

    Those pictures had me almost licking my iPad they made me so hungry!

  2. lifeisbeachykeen

    I loved where we ran yesterday, it would have been better if it was shaded but whatever.

    If you zoom into the map you can see there are more roads back there. We could have explored more. I don’t remember seeing roads that went to the left but I wasn’t paying great attention either!

    Good Luck on your Tri this coming weekend!

    • I love having you as my running buddy. I just ran a 5k over lunch and kept looking at my watch thinking “I need Jena here to take my mind off of these 3 miles ahead of me.”

  3. Like you, when it comes to tacos, we favor beans in soft tortillas usually. Just this week, I tried a new (to me) whole grain hard taco shell. They were good but I’ll bet the blue ones were better; we love blue corn chips. As for the filling, I’m not a tofu hater at all, but my husband and little guy haven’t found very many ways they love it yet, but this sounds like it could be one.

  4. ahhh you were at honeymoon island yesterday?? so was i ! small small world 🙂

    those tacos look GREAT! never seen the blue corn kind. i love soft tacos with lots of guac, tomatoes, olives, and just everything!

  5. I love tacos. In a dream world I would have one hard and one soft shell taco. I love fish and shrimp in my tacos with extra guac, lettuce, and pica de gallo or salsa.
    I hate whole foods on Saturday it is a mad house. I try to do my shopping during the week either on my lunch break or after work. I heard that parking lot has been crazier with the opening of Nordstrom Rack. I haven’t been yet but want to go ASAP.

    • Yes the RACK has affected the parking lot situation. It is crazy that during the week nights WF is practically dead.
      Have you been to Village Health Market? I love their little cafe, and it is a good bang for the buck.

  6. I haven’t been to Village Health Market. I will have to check it out soon and let you know my experience.

  7. Pingback: My favorite recipes | Eat Well. Live Well. Be Well.

  8. I cannot wait to try these! I just made tofu for the first time on Tuesday and am already addicted and looking for new recipes.

  9. I think the way you are using the tofu is really cool. I would normally just use beans too. Great to see something new!

  10. Pingback: Recent Recipes | Eat Well. Live Well. Be Well.

  11. Made the tacos tonight. They were delicious! I was wondering if you have the nutritional breakdown? I didn’t even think about checking the labels on everything.

  12. v1valavegan

    Cant wait to try!!

Leave a Reply

