Getting back in the game (and my favorite vegan snack)

I’m just under 3 weeks away from the Women’s Half Marathon.  And I’m not feeling it.

Specifically, I’ve had one horrible 10 miler, a 5 miler that I so wanted to bail on midway through, and a swim practice that hurt like no other swim practice has hurt before.  I think I’m psyching myself out.

Jena and I ran in Clearwater beginning at Sand Key Park.   Our pace wasn’t so bad (9:24), but the run just didn’t feel as good (or as fast) as some of our other long runs.


We had this little, fun bridge within the first 100 yards of our start.

About half way up this half mile incline, Jena and I looked at each other, huffing and puffying, and both were like, “I hate to bitch, but this sucks!” (We live in Florida; cut us some slack.)

I think by mile 2, we were done talking and only focusing on one thing – reaching 10 miles.  We were sure to hit 10 miles before having to go back up that bridge.  It was a long 1.5 mile walk back to the car.

I’m trying to evaluate why the run hurt so bad.  Here is my theory:

1)  I lifted 2x in the days leading up to this run (Monday and Friday).  Both days just happened to be legs.  My trainer thinks it funny to watch me suffer.  I was in the “it hurts so bad, I can’t sit and pee” category for the week.

2) That damn bridge.  Starting the run at the bottom of it mentally set me off.  I seriously wondered if I would ever catch my breath again on the run or if it would all hurt that bad.  I think I set myself here… and not for success.

3)  I took 3 weeks off my vitamins.  (I know I’m really reaching here.)

4)  I just started my period.  (Too much information, I know.  But at least that explains my blah mood, excessive hunger, and beautiful breakouts.)

Here is the deal….

I want to will run a sub 2 hour half marathon on November 21st,  so I’m done whining, and I’m going to hit 5 miles nice and hard in the morning.

What do you do when you have a bad training run and you start to psych yourself out that you can’t reach your race goal?

Or am I the only one with these outrageous thoughts? Please tell me I’m not.

One last thing.

On a lame attempt to reach 20 Vegan MOFO posts sooner than later (oh, the pressure), here was my dinner.

Vegan MOFO, Take 4.

A Sami’s Bakery Millet and Flax Lavash with spicy hummus, spinach, carrots, red onion, cherry tomatoes and Annie’s LITE Gingerly Dressing

And then my favorite (vegan) snack
Mary’s Gone Crackers Sticks & Twigs in Chipotle Tomato.
(And yes, I buy them on Amazon’s Super Saver program by the dozen.)

Be well,
Carolyn

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Getting back in the game (and my favorite vegan snack)

  1. Mo

    I’ve never heard of Sticks and Twigs before, but that flavor sounds delicious!

Leave a Reply

