Udon Noodles with Veggies and Cashew Butter Sauce

Vegan MOFO, Take 9

udon noodles

I’m always on the hunt for easy recipes that have ingredients that I’m comfortable working with.  Dreamin’ It Vegan’s recipe for Lemon Tahini Sauce over noodles was the inspiration for the meal.  I modified her recipe to fit what I had on hand.

Udon Noodles with Veggies and Cashew Butter Sauce
Serves 3-4
30 minute meal

1 box udon noodles, such as Eden Organic Udon Noodles
3 tbsp Cashew Butter
4 gloves garlic, 2 minced and 2 whole
3 tbsp agave nectar
2 tbsp sesame oil
1 lemon, juiced
2 scallions
cayenne pepper, to taste
3 cups broccoli florets
1 red pepper, cut into thin strips
2 carrots, sliced
Extra Virgin Olive Oil
1 cup water, divided into two 1/2 cups

1.  Prepare noodles according to the package directions.  Rinse and Drain.
2.  Meanwhile, in a blender, add the cashew butter, 2 whole cloves garlic, agave nectar, sesame oil, lemon juice, scallions, 1/2 cup water and cayenne pepper to taste.  Blend until smooth.
3.  Heat the olive oil in a large skillet, sauté 2 gloves minced garlic.  When slightly brown, add broccoli, red pepper, carrots, and 1/2 cup water.  Bring to a boil, lower heat, and cover for 7-12 minutes until vegetables are soft.
4.  Add rinsed and drained noodles to the skillet with the cashew butter sauce.  Toss and enjoy!

Also, Happy Birthday to my lovely husband.  I made a chocolate-orange cake for him which I will blog about tonight after Lucky and I sing happy birthday (for the second time!).

Eat well,
Carolyn

2 Comments

Filed under 30 minute meals, Main Course

2 responses to “Udon Noodles with Veggies and Cashew Butter Sauce

  1. Pingback: My favorite recipes | Eat Well. Live Well. Be Well.

  2. I was just inspired by this and made my own but similar version with the veggies in my garden that went — and it was fabulous! Thanks for the inspiration. 🙂

Leave a Reply

