Vegan MOFO: Spaghetti Squash Mexican Mash Up


Vegan MOFO, Take 11

After I named this post, I asked Dave what he would call this dish.  His response, “smorgasbord.”  I think we are on the same page then – Spaghetti Squash Mexican Mash Up it is.  Dave gave that a thumbs up.

This was the first time I have ever cooked or eaten spaghetti squash.  Dave gave this dish an 8.5, saying I sneaked in a little too much cayenne.  He said he would have given it a 10 if it wasn’t so spicy.  Meanwhile I added about 2 t. more of cayenne to my serving.  I love spicy food!

I started things out by halving the squash, removing the seeds, and drizzling olive oil on each half.  I then sprinkled the squash with chili powder and cumin (another spice I slid past Dave).

After placing the squash in a baking dish with an inch of water, I roasted it for 55 minutes at 400 degrees.

When we returned from walking Lucky, the squash was ready to come out of the oven.

DSC00597

Next, to prepare the stuffing, I sautéed a half red onion in olive oil until soft then added a diced orange bell pepper, 1 cup frozen corn, 1 cup frozen spinach, 1/2 cup halved cherry tomatoes, and 1 can of black beans to the skillet. I seasoned it with salt & pepper, chili powder, and cayenne and  cooked this for 10-12 minutes until heated thoroughly.

DSC00598

I then scraped out the inside of the spaghetti squash.  This was so much fun!  It just peels away into strands that resemble spaghetti.

DSC00600

I added the squash and a half lemon juiced to the skillet and cooked it for 3-5 minutes more.

DSC00603
I then stuffed the shells with the filling and sat down with my husband for a delicious meal!

DSC00605

Enjoy!

Eat well,
Carolyn

PS – I’m broken. After a leg workout yesterday (damn you personal trainer, you are almost fired) and 5 miles this morning, I feel like an old lady.  Dave had to rush to CVS to buy me some ibuprofen (no, we don’t have any in the  house).  What I really need is a muscle relaxer and a stiff drink. There is some interesting things happening (aka pain) in my lower back, left butt muscle and left groin area.

Maybe I just need a good stretch session? I don’t do enough of that!

1 week till my half.  This must go away.

6 Comments

Filed under Main Course

6 responses to “Vegan MOFO: Spaghetti Squash Mexican Mash Up

  1. lifeisbeachykeen

    I have some muscle relaxers =) The Sports Med Dr prescribed them to me.

  2. Ed

    Hmmmmm….
    Interesting pain combination. If it does not go away quick, I suspect a hamstring issue being masked by the other aches. Two shots of tequila should be used to wash the ibuprofen down! E

  3. Lot’s of yummy stuff all in one. Yum!

  4. Totally bookmarked this recipe for future use. About the legs, I strongly recommend brief sessions of yoga throughout the week. This may not do you much now, unfortunately, but into the future it will assist in your recovery.

  5. Pingback: My favorite recipes | Eat Well. Live Well. Be Well.

Leave a Reply

