Sub 25 – It’s official!

The results have been updated with the chip time, so it is now official.  (Phew, I feel much better about saying I went a sub-25 with the results backing it up!)

24:58

results

Just 3 months ago I was hoping to go a sub 26.  At the Zoo Run Run, a narrow, windy course, I did at 25:44.  Yay.

And then at the Jingle Bell Run, I was seriously going into this thinking, “I’ll be happy with a 26:30.”  So to blow that number out of the water and then PR by nearly a minute is pretty remarkable.  This is exactly where I need to be at to be competitive in Sprint Tris. 

Now to run a sub-25 or even a sub-26 after swimming a half mile and biking 10-12 miles is another story. 

Hopefully with a couple more seasons under my belt, I can get there. 

What does your triathlon training regime look like?  Any links you can throw my way would be appreciated!

Be well,
Carolyn

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Sub 25 – It’s official!

  1. Jena

    You kicked that 5ks ass! Great Job! You are going to rock the upcoming tri season!

  2. That’s awesome! It’s on my wish list of “someday” is to beat 25:00 for a 5k also.

    I did bricks on Saturdays. Ran another day or two each week and swam two more days. I only really biked on brick days because I was focused more on swimming.

    As far as my triathlon actually went (it was a 2 mile run), my fastest 2 mile run on my own was 17-something (I can’t remember, but under a 9:00, which is good for me). But on the triathlon, it was a good minute per mile slower (19-something). My feet were still frozen from the ocean swim.

  3. spoonfulofsugarfree

    YAY!!!!!! Congratulations! I’m glad it is official! Good job!

    I’ve Never ever done a triathlon before, but I hope I can in the future sometime 🙂 It would be a good accomplishment!

  4. I’m training for an Ironman so my schedule is pretty daunting:

    Monday = Long Run
    Tuesday = yoga/weights
    Wednesday = Long swim
    Thursday = Brick
    Friday = Short Run/weights
    Saturday = Rest
    Sunday = Swim drills/spin/core

    Times and distances are amped up each week with each 4th consecutive week being somewhat more of a shorter “recovery week”. If you’re training for fast Sprint distances, be sure to get in your Interval Bricks once a week. 🙂

  5. Just rescheduled my weeks for the new year:

    Mon = short run/weights/core
    Tue = yoga/ core/longswim
    Wed = tempo run/yoga
    Thurs = Brick/core
    Fri = rest
    Sat = Long run (increasingly weekly by 10%)
    Sun = swim drills/spin/core

  6. Pingback: Say No to Drugs 10k « Eat Well. Live Well. Be Well.

  7. Pingback: Break Time | Eat Well. Live Well. Be Well.

Leave a Reply

