Burr, Baby, Burr!

Dave and I went on a 5 mile run this morning, and damn! it’s cold out!  I’m not complaining; I’m merely stating the facts.  It actually was very nice to run and not feel exhausted or out of breath due to heat and humidity.

right now
Hot tea, cinnamon and sugar toast (man, it’s been ages since I’ve had this) and pb toast really warms me up when it’s this cold out!  I just tried Sami’s Bakery 7 Grain Cinnamon Raisin bread, and it is pretty yummy.

DSC00639
In case you were worried, we finally decorated the tree!

DSC00657
My mom has bought me a Christmas ornament for every year of my life.  They’ve been tucked away in a box in her closet for the past 28 years.  Every year when my sister and I opened the ornament we were like, “oh yeah! a 1996 Hallmark ornament.  Last one of the series.  Score.  Just what we wanted.  Thanks Mom!”  We really aren’t that ungrateful, but some of the ornaments are pretty ridiculous.  My sarcastic comments aside, it was really cool for Dave and I to decorate our first tree as a married couple with all these ornaments.  No, really Mom.  THANKS!  And let’s not forget, my Dad! I know he was right there next to her for all these purchases!  (No he was actually lost in the bookstore or electronics store).

We’ve also buy ornaments every time we go on vacation (oh, no. It’s happening!).   In 2010, we went on our honeymoon in Pagosa Springs, Colorado and skied at Wolf Creek; we stayed at a beach house in Narragansett, Rhode Island and went to Boston and Block Island; and we visited San Antonio for a long weekend for a friend’s wedding.

DSC00457 Wolf Creek, February 2010

block island Block Island, July 2010

DSCN3732 San Antonio, October 2010

It’s nice to pull those ornaments out of the box and reminisce together!

Dave is getting so into this Holiday thing, I even came home last night to Christmas music playing.  (That is a little much!)

What are some of your holiday traditions?

How do you dress when you run outside in the cold?

Enjoy your (cold) day!

Be well,
Carolyn

7 Comments

Filed under Holiday

7 responses to “Burr, Baby, Burr!

  1. spoonfulofsugarfree

    I KNOW! IT is absolutely freezing!!! What is wrong?!!!

    When I work out in the cold I wear a long sleeve shirt, jacket, sweats, a headband, and sports gloves!

  2. Ornaments are funny. Back in the day (pre-kid) I used to make ornaments. Some people reacted to the gifts with a good attitude, some people were “yeah, great” and others were downright rude. I was always amazed by the people who make a comment about how they already have SOOO many.

    When we decorate the fake tree I’ve had since 1994, almost every ornament has a memory attached to it. The ones from our friend in New Mexico. The one I made in elementary school. The crocheted snowflakes that I made. The wedding ornament for a friend. The quilted ornaments made by a very talented friend (one every year). The paper ones I painstakingly cut out (pre-kid). The simple gold ones that we get as gifts from our Danish friends and relatives. The frame with my freshman year Midshipman Navy photo…

    ah, memories.

  3. I ran in Savannah today and it was FREEZING! The “feels like” was only 22* when I left and boy did it chill me to the core! I had on running tights & a tank, long sleeve thermal & long sleeve fleece running jacket, plus a hat and gloves. I never warmed up – but it was ultra windy so that may have been part of the problem! I only made it 2 miles before I decided to call it quits. Although I can’t wait to get back to FL, even with temps in the 30s in the morning!

    We don’t have any ornament traditions yet – we just each brought what we had when we were single & still put all of it on the tree, so it’s a real mish-mash of styles, but we love it! When we have children we will probably start some kind of tradition whether it’s a “special” ornament each year or if we’ll try the German “pickle ornament” tradition – maybe both!

  4. I don’t run often. Okay, even that is making it sound like I run more than I do. But regardless – I would have the hardest time keeping my ears warm…no matter what. Even if it was relatively warm out.
    Decorating the tree really does bring back so may great memories. Glad you enjoyed it 🙂

  5. I used to be one of those people that was like “If it’s cold, I refuse to run!” Btu now I’ve gotten better about running, even when it’s cold. I wear one of those headband things that covers your ears, and that makes SUCH a difference for me. (Maybe it’s a mental thing! haha)

    Thanks for your comment! I wanted to ask you, whats your favorite thing to make in your vita-mix?? I keep using mine for the same stuff over and over, and I need to try something new 😉

  6. Holiday traditions: I schedule a long early morning run then come home to make coffee and breakfast while listening to Vince Guaraldi’s ‘A boy Named Charlie Brown’. This years run will be 21.1k. Not a race, just because, well, you know.

    Regarding running outside: It’s Canada and the weather here gets bitter cold. There are times I have returned with frostbite through my winter layers. So I wear insulated tights (sans underwear of course), a wicking long sleeve shirt and a heavy winter wind breaker. If it’s more just a case of your being “chilly” down there in Florida, consider a toque to trap in your body heat and you’ll probably do fine without having to invest in too much fancy clothes. 🙂

  7. I find it really hard to motivate myself to go running when it’s this cold. It is 15 degrees here in Georgia and I just can’t bring myself to do it.

Leave a Reply

