Time to get real.

That pain that stopped me dead in my tracks in November is still present.  I got this tip from  my swim coach a few days ago who is posting these on slowtwitch.com:

Many training programs start this week,and I wanted to talk a bit about training execution. One of the quickest ways to destroy your next training cycle is to stubbornly try to complete every workout regardless how you are recovering. One bad workout turns into a bad week which turns into a bad month. Before long you are injured or sick. A training plan is just that – a plan.  It is not written in stone.  Make sure you are recovering properly with rest and diet. If you are feeling sluggish don’t be afraid to shorten a workout or even cancel a workout.  If you are tired or not recovered from the previous workout, take a break. The most important thing you can do is learn to listen to your body. Make sure you get your recovery.  Most athletes actually go after their program too hard and do not recover enough.  Enjoy your training.

This was a reality check. I’ve been training for a 15k a bit resentfully since I’m feeling some discomfort still in my lower back, butt, and down my leg.

It’s time I stopped going to a chiropractor to manage pain but go to an M.D. to get to the root of the problem.

I now have an appointment with an orthopedist next Thursday, January 13th.

Do you think an orthopedist is the best type of doctor for this injury?

Live well,
Carolyn

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Time to get real.

  1. Jena

    I like that advice, that is good stuff. I don’t normally feel to guilty about skipping a workout, but I know their are some runners who get down right pissy if they have to miss a work out.

    Good Luck. I hope the Ortho can help you figure out what is up.

  2. Oh, I’ve had that lower back/butt/leg pain. I went to the physical therapist, which helped but didn’t get rid of it completely. I then started listening to my body – I stopped running and have been swimming, biking, walking, doing yoga and elliptical, and just started P90X.

    Good luck. I hope you get better soon.

  3. PLEASE keep us updated on what the ortho says. Who knows, I might be there in a few weeks myself with this groin problem.

Leave a Reply

