“Hi. My name is Carolyn, and I’m a race addict.”

Now say it back to me in unison, “Hi Carolyn.”

I hear the first step in dealing with an addiction is to admit that I cannot control it.

I started an email conversation with my running friends Jena and Jenny today like this

Hey girls,
I’m still on the fence about the St. Pete 10k and just wanted to let you know that I might not be running it.

I’m still running, just not as fast lately, and I’m going to the doc next week to figure out what is wrong with me.  I really just want to feel 100% again and be healthy, so I’m leery to go balls to the wall into anything right now.

Happy Friday.
Carolyn

After some back and forth emails and Jena and Jenny saying they weren’t sure if they were doing the 10k or 5k, I found myself writing back

Maybe I’ll do the 5k instead.  That might make me feel better.  Stop it.  Stop it. now.  Let me go to the doctor first and then decide.

That is when they brought to my attention that I might have a problem.  I might need help.

Hi.  My name is Carolyn, and I’m a race addict.

Are you a race addict?  How many races are you planning on running in 2011?  Do you train for one race as your main goal?  Or do you just train and train and run races when you feel like it?

Cheers to healthy addictions,
Carolyn

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to ““Hi. My name is Carolyn, and I’m a race addict.”

  1. lifeisbeachykeen

    So far I have races planned until April. I was looking @ Active yesterday to try to plan for a few more, which I should bc I don’t know how this hip is going to act.

    I can’t help it, I think I’m addicted to racing too.

  2. YES I’m an addict! More to running itself, but ooooh on race day I’m some kind of insane. My husband tolerates it. I’d talk about races–strategy, upcoming, past, etc.–all day if someone would listen! I’m registered for a marathon in May, but have several 5Ks in mind between now and then. And maybe a 10-miler… and a 25K… 😉

  3. The last two years were my “addict stage” and I trained and trained and trained, albeit with no real concept of a schedule in mind. I found that this method, unfortunately, resulted with quite a few injuries due to over training. Now, although I’m still an addict, I have learned to train smarter and focus on specific goals (races
    ), and just take each as it comes. This year, I have 3 running races (all half marathon or greater distances) and 3 tri’s (again, long distance) officially planned for 2011 with the possibility of a 7th late in the season if all goes well. I may do some “fun races” just for shits and giggles, but I never worry about performing at these, instead, just enjoying the race and chalking it up to additional training.

  4. I think I’m maybe borderline addicted? I have races planned through May so far & I’m eying a few for later in the year. The problem I have is that if I don’t have a race planned, my training goes to pot and I end up totally slacking off!

    Better to be addicted to racing (or training) than the alternative though, right?!

  5. Jenny

    Hahaha! I’m thankful that I met you and Jena! It’s nice having friends who are as addicted to racing as I am!

Leave a Reply

