Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

My friend Sara saw this recipe and said she thought of me.  See, I love smoothies.  I have a smoothie every.single.morning for breakfast.  I mean there are some days where I’m on the road for work or on vacation and don’t have access to my favorite kitchen toy – the VitaMix – but they are few and far between.

The original recipe is from allrecipes.com.  I told myself I would follow it to a T, but then when I started throwing things in the blender, I just couldn’t do it.  I know how I like my smoothies and I know too much frozen fruit and not enough liquid is not the consistency I like in my morning meal/drink.  Plus, there is no need for white sugar in a smoothie with so much natural sugars from the fruit!

So I had to change things around a bit.

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie
original recipe from allrecipes.com

photo 2

1/2 cup rolled oats (ground to a fine powder)
1 banana, frozen
6 strawberries, frozen
2 cups lite vanilla soymilk

Blend and enjoy!

467 calories – original recipe says this serves 2 – however I enjoyed it all to myself!

My reaction to this smoothie: it is a little thicker than I’m used to due to the oats and a lot less “smoothie” was produced than I’m used to drinking for my morning meal.  The oats, though, add a really filling aspect that should hold me over till lunch (my normal breakfast smoothie does).

1 Comment

Filed under Smoothies

One response to “Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

  1. Definitely bookmarked this for later, although it will be a few months yet before I see strawberries. I wonder how it might translate with blueberries, or raspberries, or…..OH, OH…Avocado!

Leave a Reply

