Lemony Penne with Spinach and Roasted Tomatoes

Confession:  I’m a huge arm chair cook. 

I routinely check out stacks of vegan cookbooks from the library, browse through them, doggy ear my favorite recipes, never cook them, incur a fine, pay it off, and then do it all again.

I’ve found myself doing the same thing with recipes I find from blogs.  They all look so good; I want to make them all.  I’ve even started a list on my blog to organize recipes that really catch my eye. 

Last week though, Jenna at Eat, Live, Run posted a recipe that looked so delicious and easy, that I was certain I would make it in the next few days.  Any recipe that claims its a “15 minute” meal gets my attention. 

The recipe wasn’t vegan, so I knew I’d have some modifications to make, and after hitting up both the HFS and Publix and not finding suitable sundried tomatoes or white beans, I decided to improvise some more. 

While my modified recipe took longer than 15 minutes (but no longer than 30), it was very easy and quite delicious.  I will definitely be making this one again.

(Please ignore the iPhone quality photos.  Not that I’m a good photographer but maybe a tad bit better if using my real camera – which was dead when I went to take pictures last night).

Lemony Penne with Spinach and Roasted Tomatoes
modified from Penne with White Beans and Spinach from Eat, Live, Run

Lemony Penne with Roasted Tomatoes and Spinach

serves 4

1 13.25 oz. box of whole wheat penne pasta.

1 T olive oil

4 garlic cloves, minced

1.5 cups of cherry tomatoes

4 cups baby spinach

zest of one lemon

juice of two lemons

1 tsp salt

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

1/4 cup nutritional yeast

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees.  Place the tomatoes in a baking dish in a single layer and roast for 30 minutes. 

While the tomatoes are roasting, cook the pasta according to package directions in boiling salted water. When cooked, drain and reserve one half cup of cooking liquid. Set aside.

In a large skillet, heat the olive oil. Add the minced garlic and sauté for two minutes, until toasted and fragrant (be careful not to burn!). Add the cooked pasta, roasted tomatoes and spinach and cook until spinach wilts. Add the lemon zest, juice, salt, cayenne and nutritional yeast and toss well. Add some of the cooking water if the mixture seems dry.

I served this with a side of steamed broccoli. 

Lemony Penne with Roasted Tomatoes and Spinach2

Enjoy!

Eat well,
Carolyn

4 Comments

Filed under 30 minute meals, Main Course

4 responses to “Lemony Penne with Spinach and Roasted Tomatoes

  1. I just love meals like this, full of good-for-you ingredients and a breeze to make. I’m sure the lemon really brightens the dish!

  2. Agreed Tasha! I got the idea to roast the tomatoes from your squash & spaghetti dish! So easy and when I buy cherry tomatoes in a HUGE container from Costco, Dave and I can actually get closer to finishing it before it goes bad.

  3. mmm lookin good!!! Definitely need some pasta recipes for the week. Thanks for sharing friend!

  4. Pingback: My favorite recipes | Eat Well. Live Well. Be Well.

Leave a Reply

