Lighting + Tornado Warning = No Swim Practice

I’ve been watching the 10-hour forecast since this afternoon suspecting the thunderstorms scheduled to hit around 8 pm would strike earlier.  The sky was looking mighty dark around 5 and the strong winds were brewing.  I felt like an 8th grader happy to get out of practice so I could talk on 3-way with my friends and write notes to ‘trade’ the next day at school.

After work I took Lucky out for a walk and then decided to head to Target to get her some food since she was all out.  $50 later I picked up some random shit and was greeted by intense storms on the walk to my car.  Luckily I came armed with both my rain coat and umbrella knowing somehow I’d get caught in the storm (it didn’t help that somehow this guy snuck in front of me in line – seriously where did he come from – used 3 gift cards which didn’t work – manager had to be called for backup – and then he put the rest on 3 different credit cards. sigh.)

This was the scene on the drive home. 

photo-3
As you can see,  or not, there wasn’t much visibility on the road.  Don’t worry, no one was harmed in the taking of this photo.  I was actually very scared driving.  Hands clenched on the steering wheel, hazards on, driving 15 mph all the way home. 

It looks like these storms aren’t going anywhere for the next few hours.  I don’t think I’ve ever been in a Tornado Watch in Florida.  This is something that I dealt with all the time in Texas.  Grab a flashlight, some food, and pow-wow in the closet. 

image

Lucky and I are settling in for the night of crappy TV.  Dave has to teach, and I’m slightly worried about him driving on the roads.  It is pretty bad out there.  I’ve called him and expressed my concern already – Give yourself plenty of time and drive s-l-o-w-l-y!

Lucky has now been fed and is enjoying a plethora of treats I picked up (two big bones, a bag of raw hides, biscuits, and the most expensive biodegradable dog-shitter-picker-upper bags that I will benefit from). 

Needless to say, swim practice has been cancelled.  Good thing I got in a 5 mile run this morning; I really wanted to bail on it.  My technique to get through it though was to do a switch-a-roo on my normal route.  This seemed to work, and I somehow managed to get ‘em done. 

Average Pace: 9:14
Mile 1: 9:05
Mile 2: 9:05
Mile 3: 9:12
Mile 4: 9:29 (Holy Headwinds Batman!)
Mile 5: 9:18

What I’m currently pondering…. how the hell do you make tofu crispy without frying it?  I can’t seem to make tofu that tops what I can get out at restaurants or on the hot bar at Whole Foods.  Any help is much appreciated!

Lucky is scared.  She is sitting under my desk crying.  Time to go snuggle with my babygirl.

Be well,
Carolyn

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Lighting + Tornado Warning = No Swim Practice

  1. It was terrible last night! Such a bizarre winter we’re having this year, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

