Yoga + 10 Mile Run

= Tired Legs

The yoga felt so good though on Friday night when I was holding poses I haven’t in at least 3 years.  You know, the shake in the standing leg as you pull your other leg behind your head, look in the mirror, and proclaim, “yeah, I still got this.”

natarajasana-at-ashmore(Source)
(Natarajasana pose)

The joke was totally on me though.  Saturday morning after a  bright and early wake-up call, I headed to New Port Richey to meet Jena and the Suncoast Striders at Starkey Park for a 10 mile run. A mere 2.5 miles in, I looked at Jena and said, “damn my legs feel heavy.”  I haven’t really felt anything like it before on a training run.  It was kind of hard to tell what was going on though because I couldn’t really feel my legs.  I dressed for 80 degree beach running weather, and it was still a nippy 50 degrees out (yeah, yeah, yeah, all you Northerners shut it.)

I had plenty of time to examine what could be causing such difficulties though, because we had a long 7.5 miles left to go. 

The alleged culprit —  Friday night’s yoga class.

Not even 12 hours earlier I  was contorting like a pretzel thinking how good it felt to bend in the most unnatural of ways.  The clue to my next day’s misery should have been when the instructor commented to me after class how stiff she felt.  Hm… isn’t yoga supposed to loosen you up? 

At least it was a beautiful morning, with the sun rising through the thick oak trees at Starkey Park.

196172386_889e90b909_z

We got through the 10 miles at a 9:14 pace, which is decent, but it definitely didn’t feel like a solid run.   I should also confess on the second half of the run I made Jena stop with me just about every mile so I could stretch.  Thanks for being a trooper Jena. 

What worries me a bit is that I have a 15k on Saturday in which I would like to have a good race.  Here is how I’m breaking things down for this 15k. 

A great race = 8:45 pace
A good race = 9:00 pace
A decent race = 9:15 pace
A screw-this-I’m-going-back-to-swimming race = 9:30 pace
(just kidding… maybe)

I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m not as fast as a runner as I think I am.  Or maybe I just can’t, don’t know how, or refuse to push myself, to hold a consistent, decently fast (for me anyways) speed on a race longer than a 5k.  Maybe I just need to learn how to really train for road races actually incorporating speed and tempo work into my workouts.  Oh well, the Gasparilla 15k is a week away, so there isn’t much I can change at this point. 

I’m hoping to come in my “good race” category which means I’ll average 9 minute miles.  Do you think this is possible?  Do you race much faster than your training runs?  Can I shave 15 seconds off per mile? 

Here are the stats from some recent runs.

10 miles at Starkey Park – 2/19/11
Average Pace – 9:14
image

5 miles in the ‘hood – 2/16/11
Average pace – 9:15
image

5 miles in the ‘hood – 2/14/11
Average Pace – 9:06
image

9.7 miles in San Francisco – 2/12/11
6 miles on the ‘mill.  Average pace  -9:22
3.7 miles on the road.  Average pace – 9:25
(though .7 not picked up on the Garmin)
image

Should I lower my expectations for my race pace?  Is 9 minute miles attainable?

Whether I’m ready for a great, good, or decent run, I’m looking forward to Gasparilla this weekend. 

Hope your weekend is going well.  It feels so nice to have a 3 days off!  Are you doing anything fun? 

Be well,
Carolyn

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Yoga + 10 Mile Run

  1. I think you’ve got a really good shot at hitting that pace. Races are different. My best race pace ever was 9:34 for a 10-miler, and I never even came close to that in any of my long training runs (9:50 to 10:00).

    You’re supposed to do yoga AFTER the long run, not before!

  2. lifeisbeachykeen

    No yoga this week, no nothing this week except a few easy runs!!

    I just looked up your races times for last year {Yah, I athlink stalked you}.. I think you can hang @ the 8:45. Did you realize that your 5k PR was a 8:01 pace? Your 10k (with that big stupid causeway) was 8:56.

    I hope that I race faster than I train..but I don’t know about Gasparilla. My training runs have been faster than normal, so we’ll see what I can hold on to.

  3. Ed

    Good for you C. Good luck in Gasparilla! May you run your best race ever. See you in Charleston!

  4. caronlyn

    I always race faster than during my training runs. This might be due to over-competitiveness, but I really think you can run a great race.

    Just no more yoga for the week!

  5. My goal at the beginning of the year was to run a sub-two hour marathon and I get my first chance next Sunday. My training times lately have been much quicker than last year and I’m running better, even if I still don’t love it. Of course, these times may also more reflect me chasing after my coach than it does my comfortable running pace, so we’ll have to see what happens come race day when I’m on my own. I’m secretly hoping to crush my PB.

Leave a Reply

