Sloppy Joes

Really, Black Bean and Edamame Sliders –   but these are Vegans answer to Sloppy Joe’s.  Vegetarian Times says, and I definitely agree, that, “edamame lightens up the black bean mixture to keep these sliders from tasting too dense.”

DSC00872 (I wish I was a better food photographer!)

The filling is packed full of protein – with black beans AND edamame – and the spices are subtle enough to not be overpowering.  I did have to omit the cilantro since Dave doesn’t care for it, although I sneaked in the cumin without him noticing!  Dave even went back for a second burger!

As a vegan, I always get asked, “where do you get your protein, and how do you get enough?”  To be honest, I don’t worry too much about my protein intake.  I eat lots of greens and fresh fruit which contain protein, despite the common belief.  Here is a link to a vegetable protein percentage chart.  I also don’t particularly eat a lot of tofu, beans, or nuts which are the more common vegetarian protein sources.  I just eat a plant based diet, and for six years now it has done me well. 

On to the recipe…. which can double as an amazing sandwich spread or cracker topper.   I served our Sloppy Joes with a side of corn and peaches.  What a southern meal! 

DSC00870

Black Bean and Edamame Sliders
March 2011 Vegetarian Times
Makes 12 sliders (4-6 regular sized burgers) | 30 minutes or fewer

1 cup frozen shelled edamame
1 clove garlic (I used 2)
1 1/2  cups cooked black beans, or
       1 15-oz. can black beans, rinsed and drained
1 chipotle chile in adobo sauce, rinsed and minced
1/4 cup coarsely chopped cilantro
3/4 cup plus 1 tbs. prepared fat-free barbeque sauce, divided
(in which I used too little because apparently I can’t read) 
1 1/2 tsp. ground cumin
1/4 tsp. salt
1 tsp. EVOO
12 small whole-wheat dinner rolls (I used whole-wheat hamburger buns)

1. Bring small pot of water to a boil.  Add edamame, and cook 10 minutes.  Drain

2. Process garlic in food processor until minced.  Add edamame, black beans, chipotle chile, cilantro, 1 tbs. barbecue sauce, cumin, and salt.  Process until mixture forms coarse paste. 

3. Heat oil in saucepan over medium-low heat.  Add edamame mixture, and heat until hot, stirring occasionally. 

4.  Spoon 1 tbs. barbecue sauce onto each bottom bun.  Top with bean mixture, spinach or green of choice, and top bun. 

Per slider: 329 CAL; 16 G PROT; 9 G TOTAL FAT; (3 G SAT FAT); 51 G CARB; 14 MG SOD; 11 G FIBER; 12 G SUGARS

Enjoy! 

Eat well,
Carolyn

4 Comments

Filed under Main Course

4 responses to “Sloppy Joes

  1. I’m not vegan by any means but this actually looks really good! Did you see the episode on Oprah where her and 300 of her staffers became vegan for the week?

    http://www.pearlsandgreentea.com

  2. These look so good, this will be one of my first recipes I will try next week wehn I add whole wheat bread back into my diet! Thanks for sharing.

  3. Pingback: My favorite recipes | Eat Well. Live Well. Be Well.

Leave a Reply

