I feel it coming…

Saturday morning I woke up with a headache.  I rarely get headaches.  I knew something was up.  Over a walk I bitched to Lucky who licked my face in sympathy. 

I proceeded to go kick some butt in the pool at the smallest swim meet known to man.  We were running 3 lanes per heat, and sometimes the girls and guys swam together.  It was basically a glorified swim practice, except I paid more for it.

DSC00925
David, is a single leg amputee, who can kick some major ass.  He asked us before the race, “with or without my leg?”  He went without, and was pretty damn fast! 

DSC00926

I haven’t raced in a pool in 10 years.  All sorts of worries were floating through my head the night before…. Would I belly flop off the start?  Would my goggles stay on?  Would I still have my game? 

All was well.  It was nice to see where I am in the pool.  I  swam the 50 free, 50 back, 50 fly, and 100 IM.  Oh, how I love Master’s swimming!  It is like I’m 9 years old again and allowed to swim 50’s of every stroke.  (In my defense, I wanted to swim the 200 free, but no one else was signed up, so I quickly acted like I wasn’t planning on swimming it.)

DSC00928
My Coach, Scot, and I

Again, in 9 year old’s fashion, I got excited over ribbons.  Yes, ribbons.  3 blues, and a red.  The red was in an open event, and my team mate Eric beat me.  This does NOT count towards my goal of winning my AG in a race.  I want something better than a ribbon. thank.you.very.much!

What do I feel coming, you ask?  A damn cold.  Sucks.

Be well,

Carolyn

7 Comments

Filed under Swimming

7 responses to “I feel it coming…

  1. lifeisbeachykeen

    Aww, blue ribbons! I meant to ask you the other day if these counted towards your goals. Guess not!

    Hope you feel better soon!

  2. Congrats, you! I need you to come give me swimming lessons, stat.

  3. oo im so sorry!!i felt that last week and well now ive had a head cold for AGES.. GRRR!!.. congrats on your ribbons!!!!!

    • The thing with colds…. you just have to let them run their course. I know when I’ll get sick… when I don’t get enough sleep, can’t eat well and don’t get in my exercise. The thing is my life isn’t only get crazier in the next couple weeks. Ah….

Leave a Reply

