Saturday Market & Catching Up!

The past week has been a busy one. 

Last weekend, I was in New Jersey to play Nurse Carolyn to my Pop-Pop who just had a knee replacement, flew to Maryland for a client training and a county council meeting, and then came home to jump right back into life going to swim practice, running, cycling and squeezing in a date with my wonderful husband. 

Since I’m playing catch up, I’ll start with the most recent adventure and back track from there. 

This morning I met up with Callie, Meredith, Theresa, and Meghann at Central Café and Organics in St. Petersburg for an early lunch and then a stroll around the Saturday Morning Market

 
(Since I’m an iPhone blogger, I decided to take copious amounts of pictures taken from Meghann since she is the real deal.  Consider Meghann the source for any quality looking photo!)

(source)

IMG_9596
(source)

Central Café and Organics is an organic, vegan & vegetarian restaurant in downtown St. Pete.  Their food is the color of the rainbow and bursting with flavor. 

photo(7)

I got the Salad Sampler – scoops of wheatberry, tabbouleh, and hummus on a bed of romaine with carrots, cabbage, cucumber and tomato – with a side of their homemade balsamic vinaigrette.  It was the perfect choice – light yet filling, very fresh, and perfect for a beautiful spring morning.  A carrot, apple, ginger juice completed the meal!

We enjoyed lunch along Central Avenue steps away from the Saturday Morning Market. 

IMG_9608
Meredith, Teresa, Me, and Callie (source)

photo 2(2)
Meghann, Callie, Meredith, and Teresa looking stunning for my iPhone photo!

Afterwards we browsed the Saturday Morning Market. 


(source)

I came home with organic cherry tomatoes, zucchini, squash, romain, and peaches from Worden Farm and “the worlds best pineapple.” (Verdict’s still out on his claim.) 


(source)


(source)

I finished up the rest of my grocery shopping at Publix Greenwise and then went for a quick drive around Davis Island as a victory lap before heading home. 

Dinner is in the oven – Mexican Corn Tortilla Casserole – and I’m roasting some of the squash, zucchini, and cherry tomatoes I got this morning with some onion.

photo

Also, I have about 5 loads of laundry to put away.  Dave seems to think doing laundry means washing it, throwing it in the dryer, and leaving it for me to discover – damp – after being on the road for 5 nights.  Being an adult isn’t all it’s cracked up to be.

photo 2

Off to walk Lucky and enjoy the rest of this gorgeous day.  The laundry (and changing of sheets) can wait. 

Be well,
Carolyn

6 Comments

Filed under Tampa Bay

6 responses to “Saturday Market & Catching Up!

  1. that looks like a fun meetup! and a monster good salad!

  2. Oh my goodness, it’s not even 9:00 in the morning, and I am totally drooling over that amazing looking salad! Definitely keeping that restaraunt in mind for the next I’m in that area.

    • Totally. Central Cafe & Organics is a great little spot. Check it out next time you are in St. Pete. I’m going to make a wheatberry salad and tabbouleh and create my own salad.

  3. What a fun post! Love the salad and the photos of the market.

  4. Pingback: Bulk Foods & Grains | Eat Well. Live Well. Be Well.

  5. Pingback: Kayak + Yoga | Eat Well. Live Well. Be Well.

Leave a Reply

