Chaco Tanlines

Go read this blog post: #39 Chaco Tanlines and then resume with this post.

Chacos
(I high tailed it to get a pedicure right after this photo was taken!)

I stumbled upon this blog post about Chaco tan lines.  Chacos, if you are unfamiliar with them, are the sandal of a hardcore adventurer.  Actually, I’m not sure if it is the actual sandal or the tan line that warrants badass status.  Either way, I’m part of the club.

These ridiculously looking shoes make for awesome footwear – and even awesomer (?) tan lines.   I even have my mom sporting these sandals, and she often gets stopped to get told how awesome she is.  A 60 year old mom sporting Chacos to the spa – how much more hardcore can you be? 

In all seriousness, I’m really attached to my Chacos.  It isn’t necessarily the sandal, but the memories attached that hold a special place in my heart.

(Chacos + Thai Dad + Casava Root = Awesome)

Once, at Old Settler’s Music Festival, the best bluegrass festival on the face of the earth, I thought it was a good idea to take off my shoes in a crowd of thousands and dance around barefoot. I fully intended to get my shoes back.  But after twirling in circles to the sounds of, oh hell I don’t even remember, my beloved Chacos were MIA.  After the crowds dispersed, I enlisted total strangers to help find my shoes.

Old Settlers
(The back of this picture says, “Lindsey  and Carolyn – Best life ever! Camping by the creek – Old Settlers – April 2007”)

In the end, my Chacos and I were reunited.  Phew.

Or there was that time, on the most amazing hike in Krabi, Thailand, when we didn’t have a clue what we were getting ourselves into as we unsuspectedly boarded this boat to head to Koh Phi Phi (I think).

DSCN0279

It wasn’t really a hike we went on, but more a climb, where I had to throw my Chacos down 20 feet to scale a wall.  One shoe made it safely, the other was no where to be found.

DSCN0315
I placed a bottle of liquor on the table to whichever of my broke-as-a-joke Peace Corps friends could find it.  SCORE one for Lindsey.  She worked extra hard for that liquor, and in the end, my Chacos and I were reunited yet again.

DSCN0304 (Boat Ride + Hike + Climb + Scaling Wall + Lost Chaco = Secret Lagoon)

The Parade (Chacos + Water guns = Double Trouble)

CIMG0267 (Skirts + Chacos + Hiking + Pai, Thailand = Badass)

There are many, many more stories like these, and these memories are why these f-ugly shoes are so very precious to me.

DSCN3065(Girl + Boy + Blue Ridge Mountains = Now Husband + Wife)

Stay Tuned for more Chaco adventures as this team heads to Arizona next week to hike the Grand Canyon and around Sedona!

Live well,
Carolyn

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Chaco Tanlines

  1. lifeisbeachykeen

    Awesome. I now want some chacos to prove my bad-assery. Hm.. I could wear them fishing. That’s not very bad ass, but still.

  2. I heart Chacos! I have two pairs of Flips & one Unaweep – best sandals ever! I love the arch support and yes, the tan lines that come with them. Worth every penny!

  3. Jordan

    I am a Chacos traitor! After more than 5 years of hiking/working/cycling in them I now have switched to the Teva team for the time being- they are just so squishy and comfy! However they look nowhere near as awesome as my Chacos did and I do miss my amazing tan lines.

  4. Too funny; can’t believe you’ve lost and re-found them so many times! :-)Are still on your original pair, or do you have several??

Leave a Reply

