Bananas on Salad

Auckland Skyline
Auckland Skyline

I first tried this in Auckland, New Zealand.  I have no idea where I was.  I just landed and was ready for adventures abroad.  First thing first though (to really blend in with the locals) is to bust out a brightly colored Let’s Go! New Zealand and find a hot spot to dine. 

This was 2003, so I’m sure now one could look a little more tech savvy accessing this information via a smart phone (and not so much “hey, I’m American and just landed in New Zealand”ish).

Either way, I had no shame, because the spot I arrived at was glorious.  The one thing I took away from that meal, besides that fact that I don’t have to tip in NZ (that’s pronounced N – Zed), is that bananas on a salad = awesome!

DSC01303

In the mixing bowl tonight: spinach, carrots, red onion, cherry tomatoes, red pepper, avocado, dried cranberries & apples, Mary’s Sticks & Twigs, and a BANANA!  Dressing was Annie’s Gingerly.

What random things do you put in your salad?

And while you are here, let’s dig through the archives. Here are some pictures from my travels in New Zealand.  NZ is probably one of the coolest places on earth.  Where else in this world can hitch-hiking be considered a safe, reliable, and perfectly normal mode of transportation? One day I’ll tell the story about the time we thought hitch-hiking in Australia was a good idea.  Don’t be fooled.  That country (continent) is not as small as your 4th grade globe makes it seem.

Abel Tasman Sea2Abel Tasman National Park

Nugget Point Rainbow3
Nugget Point Rainbow at Catlin’s National Park

Mt. Aspiring Track 3
Mt. Aspiring Track, Wanaka

 Waimangu Volcanic Valley  11
Waimangu Volcanic Valley

Huka Falls 5
Huka Falls

Polly wanna cracker
On the ski slopes in Wanaka

 

Eat well,
Carolyn

2 Comments

Filed under Salads, Travel

2 responses to “Bananas on Salad

  1. I’m jealous. New Zealand is at the top of our to-do list when it comes to travel. Someday!

    As for the salad, I am super intrigued. Bananas are my current fruit obsession, and I could eat salad everyday happily, so I will have to give this a try.

  2. Random salad things: falaphel, pumpkin seeds, orange slices, grilled shrimp, roasted beets, hulled pistachios, capers, pickled Daikon…there are no limits when it comes to a good, hearty “kitchen sink” style salad.

Leave a Reply

