True Food Kitchen

This is the third post in a series about our Arizona trip and Grand Canyon hike from April 2011. To read more, check out these other posts:

The beginning of our Grand Canyon Hike
The Arizona Vacation… that almost didn’t happen.

 True Food Kitchen, a small restaurant chain in Arizona and California, promotes healthy eating and sustainability.  I heard about True Food Kitchen on Peas and Thank You and was looking forward to their vegan-friendly menu, especially their chocolate mousse for dessert. 

DSC01036

The outside patio of the  Biltmore Fashion Park’s True Food Kitchen is warm and inviting.  Tables are covered by bright umbrellas, and walk ways are lined with fragrant herbs. 

DSC01035

Inside, an earthy dining room and open kitchen awaits. 

DSC01037

It was nice for Dave to finally unplug for a bit and for us to enjoy each other’s company.  That is what vacation is all about! 

Feeling a bit groggy after our four hour flight, I guzzled two cups of coffee with soy milk hoping it would perk me up for afternoon drive to Sedona. 

DSC01038

Since we missed lunch and were dining between lunch and dinner, I opted for a big meal to hold me over for the evening.  I had the stir-fry with tofu.  Dave had the turkey burger with sweet potato fries.  We both enjoyed our meals and the ambiance of the restaurant. 

DSC01039

As much as I wanted to splurge on the chocolate mousse that Mama Pea raved about on her blog, I was stuffed from my entrée.

With a full belly, I headed off to browse the shops

DSC01045  DSC01042 DSC01041

while Dave headed to Starbucks where he busted out the world’s largest spreadsheet to get some work done.   

  DSC01047

Hopefully after inspecting it closely and number crunching, he can feel prepared for his lawyer duties and can enjoy the rest of our trip stress-free. 

DSC01048

Convertible top down, we are headed to Sedona for the next 2 nights.  Up next, uptown Sedona and hiking Cathedral Rocks.

Be well,
Carolyn

4 Comments

Filed under Travel

4 responses to “True Food Kitchen

  1. OMG, you were not kidding about the gigantic spread sheet. That thing is massive.

  2. I am a big fan of True Food Kitchen. So glad you had the experience to go. I hear many people across the country will have that same experience soon as they are expanding. I am a frequent diner at the one in Newport Beach. I wrote the company a letter about how impressed I was with their kids’ menu. Thought you may enjoy reading it.

    http://blog.feedingphilosophies.com/2011/02/true-food-kitchen-kids-menu.html

    Thank you for the posts. I enjoyed reading them.

    Melanie Silverman

  3. Pingback: Sedona and Cathedral Rocks | Eat Well. Live Well. Be Well.

Leave a Reply

