My Sister’s First Race

A few months ago I found out that I was going to Texas for a work gig where the client was literally 5 miles down the road from my parent’s house.  Not only did I get to combine a work trip with a family trip, but the client’s needs were such that I had to be in Texas for 10 days and got to be home over Easter weekend.   Winning.

Thinking it would be fun to run a local 5k while home, I went looking online for a race.  I called my sister and asked her if she wanted to participate.  She jumped at the chance to join in on the fun and train for her first ever 5k – Victory of Violence 5k in Ft. Worth.

Kathleen on a Florida visit


Kathleen is my older sister who I’ve always looked up to growing up.    Kathleen is beautiful – inside and out!

It felt great lacing up my running shoes for the first time in over a week this morning.  Those normal pre-race jitters weren’t there as I planned to stick with my sis and push her to finish strong.  My goal of the day was to cross the finish the line with my sister.  Kathleen’s goal was to run her first 5k.

The course was beautiful, winding through Trinity Park under a canopy of trees.  The shade and breeze made the balmy morning’s weather tolerable.

I played coach during this race motivating and pushing Kathleen every step of the way.   Her longest run to date was 2.5 miles so she was unsure if she would be able to run the whole 5k.    I assured her she could!  We took a very short walk break through the first water stop at Mile 1, but after throwing back our water, I was pushing Kathleen to start running again.  At Mile 1.5 she mentioned her shoe bothering her, but I encouraged her to keep going not really knowing how bad it was.  We were halfway there!  She was running her first 5k.

We walked again at Mile 2, for a quick 20 seconds or so, where the course went on an out and back stretch, having the finish line within sight.  This pushed Kathleen to run strong, despite her foot issue.

When we turned the last corner, with less than .2 miles left, Kathleen and I picked it up to come through the finish line strong.

We entered the race untimed, but we crossed the finish line just shy of 39 minutes.  Way to go Kathleen.  I am so proud of your for accomplishing your goal.  I wish you many more 5k finishes in your future!

As you all know, I’ve been having a bit of a hard time with my running game.  My injury + a bad outlook = break time.  This race though, really did good things for my mental outlook of the sport.  I slowed down.  I watched the race take place not from a point of total exhaustion and self-pressure, but from one where I was out to have fun.  I look time to enjoy the scenery, talk to other runners, laugh out loud, and spend time with my sister.

While my sister has gained the bragging rights to completing her first 5k (and a nasty blister on her foot), I’ve gained a new outlook on running and life.

I can’t wait till we do it again sis!

7 Comments

Filed under Life, Travel

7 responses to “My Sister’s First Race

  1. Yes! Awesome to hear you got to enjoy a race and such a great job by your sister!

  2. Kristen

    Congratulations Girls!

  3. Yay! I love completing events with family members – especially when its their first! Glad to hear your sister had fun & that you enjoyed a stress-free run too!

  4. Congrats to your sister! I was with my sister when she finished her first marathon and was more emotional than she was! Good for you for being such a great coach, as well!!

  5. Extra bonus ‘Broccoli Points’ for you and congrats to your sister. Sounds like a really nice day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

