Dear Dad,

265185_10150286194891350_555861349_9531932_6665544_n

Dear Dad,

Remember that time you picked me up from school on a whim and told me we were going to Hawaii?  We ate m&ms for breakfast and chased a volcano, and then you you had me home for school Monday morning. 

Remember when we went to that Indian fort?  Was that the place were I got my fringe leather vest?  I can’t wait have kids and let them wear that cool get-up.

Remember going to the Texas State Fair, eating funnel cakes and watching the Vita Mix demonstrations?  Thanks for giving me your VitaMix, by the way.  You know how much I use that sucker.

Remember going to PK Lake for the weekend and doing all kinds of fun things – skiing, relaxing at Hell’s Gate, pool at Big Dogs, exploring in Graham.

Remember when you wrote me that letter on hotel stationary about how proud you were of me and how much you loved me?  I still have it.

Remember when I watched you graduate with your MBA?  I was so proud. 

DSCI0013

Remember when you dropped me off at college and I cried?  I bet you and Mom didn’t see that coming.

Remember when I called and told you I wanted to join the Peace Corps?  You told me “go for it,”  and I did.

8920_171711851349_555861349_4105263_1939549_n

Remember when we scuba dived together in Thailand?  How beautiful was that!

8920_171711906349_555861349_4105271_2421114_n

Remember when I moved to Florida, and we became roommates?  Best roomie ever.

Remember when you walked me down the aisle, and we danced to “The Way You Look Tonight?”

bride and FOB dance

Happy Father’s Day, Dad!  You are an amazing person who I look up to very much.  You have showed me how to work hard, have a sense of adventure, and to be an individual.   Thanks for putting up with me throughout the years and showing me unconditional love. 

Love,
SAFH

11 Comments

Filed under Holiday, Life

11 responses to “Dear Dad,

  1. WOW Carolyn…. you are wonderful… and WE LOVE YOU so much.
    We are so proud of you and Dave— plus, Lucky Girl.

    Love, Mom

  2. Shawn McGee

    Carolyn, you’re wonderful and I love what you wrote! You’re so lucky to have such an father! Happy fathers day to Uncle B! Lots of love to you all – Shawn

  3. Shawn McGee

    You’re so lucky to have such an amazing father!

  4. Awesome post Carolyn! Your Dad sounds pretty cool! 🙂

  5. I love my wife! (and I am very happy to have such a great father in law!).

  6. OK that does it, I’m crying and I’ve never even met your father 🙂

  7. Dad is pretty great…I teared up reading this!!

  8. What a beautiful tribute to your dad. You look so beautiful and happy in your wedding photos- well, truth be told, in all those photos!

  9. Aileen

    Awww Carolyn this was REALLY sweet!! – Aileen

  10. Ashley

    I don’t even know you and this brought me to tears. I must write something to my own DAD. Thank you for putting it out there…

Leave a Reply

