Apple Picking

IMG_0634[1]

I’ll remember our Maine trip because it was the first time I’ve picked apples.  Growing up in Texas and now living in Florida, apple picking isn’t something we do in the Fall.  In fact, in September and October at the peak of apple season in some parts of the county, it is still bikini and beach weather in my parts. 

IMG_0664[1] IMG_0663[1]

On the other hand,  Dave will remember our Maine trip as the time I fell out of the canoe fully clothed.  The plan was for us to canoe for a bit, and then Dave was going to swim back (no way I was getting in that cold water).  So, he jumped out and starting swimming along.  But I was having some problems.  Have you ever tried to steer a canoe with one person?  Doesn’t really work so well.  So I convinced Dave to try to get back into the canoe.  I put my weight on the opposite site he was going to get into, and the last thing I remember is seeing him try to pull himself up…  Well, this sent me flying off the other side right into that chilly water I was trying to avoid.  It actually wasn’t so bad, but jeans are definitely not meant for casual swims in the lake. 

I managed to get back into the boat, and Dave agreed to pull me back.  That made my soggy ride back to the lodge all the better.  And hey, Dave got that workout he was after.

IMG_0672[1]
No, not the incident at hand, but Dave jumping into some chilly water.

Back to apple picking though. 

Dave and I went to Brackett’s Orchads in Limington, Maine. 

IMG_0633[1]

The orchard was cute and quaint with hay rides for the kids (and adults!). 

IMG_0668[1]

The best part though – the apples.  We munched our ways through the trees deciding on our favorites of the bunch – Honeycrisp and Cortland

IMG_0644[1]IMG_0645[1]

Honeycrisp has always been a favorite of mine, but after sampling the variety at Brackett’s, it was further confirmed.  Dave, who previously stated he would only eat Granny Smith, was made a convert after sampling the fresh picks.  Tart and crisp, the characteristics of what make a Granny Smith apple appealing to some, is the Honeycribs and Cortland draw.

I was in apple heaven. 

IMG_0659[1]

I still am actually.  I lugged the suckers all the way from Maine to Florida. 

Here is a great vegan apple pie recipe from Vegetarian Times

Old-Fashioned Apple Pie
Serves 8

image

Crust
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup whole-wheat flour
1 1/2 Tbs. cornstarch
2 tsp. sugar
1/4 tsp. salt
6 Tbs. cold margarine, cut into pieces
Filling
2 lb. apples, peeled, cored, and cut
   into 8 wedges each (6 to 8 apples)
1/4 cup raisins, optional
1/4 cup chopped dried apricots, optional
2 Tbs. lemon juice
2 Tbs. brown sugar
1 Tbs. cornstarch
1 tsp. ground cinnamon
1/8 tsp. salt
1 Tbs. turbinado sugar, optional

Directions

1. To make Crust: Pulse flours, cornstarch, sugar, and salt in food processor to combine. Add margarine, and process until mixture resembles coarse meal. Add 1/2 cup cold water, and process until dough forms. Add water 1 Tbs. at a time, if necessary. Wrap in plastic wrap; chill 1 hour.

2. To make Filling: Toss apple wedges, raisins, dried apricots (if using), lemon juice, brown sugar, cornstarch, cinnamon, and salt in large bowl. Set aside.

3. Preheat oven to 450°F. Shape two-thirds of dough into flat round. Roll out to 14-inch diameter circle on floured work surface. Press into 9-inch pie dish, letting excess hang over edges. Prick bottom with fork. Mound Filling in pie. Roll out remaining dough into 9-inch circle, place over Filling, and fold excess dough over top, crimping edges to seal. Brush top with water, and sprinkle with turbinado sugar, if using. Poke small hole in center of pie, and set on baking sheet. Place pie in oven; reduce heat to 350°F. Bake 60 to 80 minutes, or until golden.

Nutritional Information
Per slice:
Calories               289
Protein                5g
Total Fat            9g
Saturated Fat   4g
Carbs                   49g
Cholesterol       0mg
Sodium              201mg
Fiber                   3g
Sugar                  14g

IMG_0636[1]

Be well,
Carolyn

9 Comments

Filed under Desserts, Travel

9 responses to “Apple Picking

  1. I’m an Iowan in South Florida, so I can relate to missing apples and fall. Fall was always my favorite and, tho I love living next to the ocean, I miss sweaters, campfires, boots, etc!
    (PS I write this as I’m eating a great local avocado! I’m thankful for what Florida has as well 😀 )

  2. that looks like so much fun! i love apple picking–but i haven’t done it in years!

  3. Jan

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE honeycrisp apples but could not bring myself to pay $3.49/lb yesterday at Publix!

  4. I looove apple picking!! I haven’t been since I moved here from Syracuse! The husband and I are planning to go when we travel up north for the marathon. I’ll definitely have to try that pie recipe when we get back. Did you have to do anything special with flying those home? Or is that just oranges?

Leave a Reply

