Pissing People Off

I avoid pissing people off as best I can, though I was once involved in some drama at the juice bar.  That employee is no longer there, and I think had bigger issues than my carrot-apple-ginger 16 oz. 

Anyways, this list of items works whether you are trying to avoid pissing off your boss, you want a long lasting relationship with your husband/wife, you are trying to avoid drama with a member of your tri team, or you don’t want to blow a gasket at the annoying girl in your spin class who always has to have the same bike. 

I’m just passing this information along.  It came from a friend who gives me sage advice that mainly applies to business, but that can also be spun in a way to help a broader audience. 

How to Avoid Pissing [Insert Person Here] Off

1.  Identify the problem.  Give a solution. 

Bad:   “Coach, 100×100 yard butterfly is the worst main set known to man.  Besides my shoulder has been hurting me lately. ”
Good:  “Coach, my shoulder has really been giving me some issues lately, can I do these 100’s freestyle swim/kick/drill/swim by 25 instead?”

2.  Don’t shop Mom and Dad.

Bad: “Immediate Boss, what do you think of the app that I designed?’” “Second boss, oh you think it needs x, y, and z?  Well, I.B. said that it was perfect.” 
Good: “Immediate Boss, I’m asking the key stake holders to review this new app.  Can you give me some feedback on what could make this app better?” 
“Second Boss, I’ve spoken with I.B. earlier who gave me x, y, and z feedback on my new app.  Would you have some time to review it and offer some additional  suggestions for improvement?”

3. Don’t go around those in charge*.

Bad: “Husband, Don’t freak out when you see the huge credit card bill this month.  I am racing two Ironman this year – New Zealand and Cancun, and I treated us to the Ritz Carlton, already booked our couple’s massage with the best masseuse at the spa post race, oh and did I mention, we are confirmed first class.”
Good: “Husband, I am planning my 2012 racing season, and I’d really like to race Ironman New Zealand.  Plus my best friend AND your college buddy lives there.  We could probably crash at their place after the race to save some bucks and I have some FF miles so at least one of our tickets would be free.  Can we sit down and see if these plans align with our vacation schedule and budget for next year?”

*Strategically let your husband think he is in charge when necessary.

4.  Bad news should always travel faster than good news.

Bad: I’m quitting my tri team, didn’t tell my coach, who also happens to be my friend, and am joining another team. 
Good: I’ve decided another tri team fits my training needs and schedule better, so I had a conversation with my coach to let her know my plans for next racing season. 

5.  Keep people informed.

Bad: You show up for swim practice and the pool is closed down.  Why didn’t the Team’s caption send an email?
Good: The pool is closed down this week.  I’ve already received 4 emails from the Team’s caption with options for dryland, three other pools to train at, and sample workouts. 

6.  Don’t lie intentionally.

Bad: I run a sub 5 marathon. 
Good: I once ran a marathon and I’m not telling you my time.  It doesn’t count, since it was really at a power walking pace.  I seek justice on this distance again.  This time moving a little quicker. 

Be well,
Carolyn

1 Comment

Filed under Life

One response to “Pissing People Off

  1. Bad: “Look dipshit, those Godzilla toe nails are gross and I’m afraid to swim in the same lane as you, lest you slash open my juggler vein and I bleed out in the pool and die”
    Good: “I have found that maintaining good foot hygiene while working out in the public swimming pool increases my own comfort level as well as those around me.”

Leave a Reply

