That’s Vegan?!?

The words uttered by my husband as he inhaled tonight’s Valentine’s dessert

Chocolate Cookie Cake

This cookie cake is that good.  Good enough to fool the most purest bakers of bakers.  Pickiest kids of pickiest kids.  Most traditional of traditional.

See, normally I’m not one for baking.  I tend to stick to tried and true pies that require the one piece of kitchen equipment I trust – my VitaMix.  But after watching this news piece from Chocolate Covered Katie, I gave it a go. 

So I swapped my blender for the food processor, dusted off my spring form pan, and pre-heated the oven for what turned out to be one damn tasty treat. 

Now I’m not going to go on pretending I’m good at, or even like baking, but this recipe is definitely going to stay with me for life.  I plan on fooling many cookie-cake loving friends, family and kids into indulging in this treat.  Make some icing and write “Happy Birthday,” “Happy Cinco de Mayo” or “Happy Whatever-else-you-are-celebrating-that-day” and you are good to go… in under an hour!

Enjoy!

Deep-Dish Cookie Pie|
from Chocolate Covered Katie

  • 2 cans white beans or garbanzos (drained and rinsed) (500g total, once drained)
  • 1 cup quick oats (or certified-gf quick oats)
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 3 T canola oil
  • 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 and 1/2 cups brown sugar (You can sub evaporated cane juice or white sugar.)
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Pre-heat oven to 350F.  Blend everything (except the chips) very well in a good food processor (not a blender). Mix in chips, and pour into an oiled pan (I used a 10-inch springform pan, but you can use a smaller pan if you want a really deep-dish pie.) Cook at 350F for around 35-40 minutes. Let stand at least 10 minutes before removing from the pan.

My notes: 

1.  Since I didn’t read the recipe very well, I blended everything (meaning: plus the chocolate chips) very well.  No problem.  I just added in even more after the batter was blended.  What did I end up with?  A double chocolate deep-dish cookie pie.  No complaints here.

2.  I had to blend in batches since my FP isn’t big enough to blend everything at once. 

3.  I cooked for 35 minutes and cooled for 30.  It was still warm and gooey inside.  Yum.

Be well,
Carolyn

8 Comments

Filed under Desserts

8 responses to “That’s Vegan?!?

  1. sara

    Oh my!! That looks delicious and sounds pretty easy. Bookmark!

  2. Yum, a cookie cake! I’m not much of a baker either, but this looks like something I can make. :-)

  3. I have a feeling I will trying this very soon! It looks amazing.

  4. ArtificialRed

    I LOVE this recipe!! So, so good, and I have yet to share it with a non-vegan who hasn’t liked it. Loving your blog so far by the way, not sure why I waited so long to click on your link!

  5. Best part of a cake is the gooey feeling. I know sounds kinda gross but I like that part.

Leave a Reply

