Swimming for Two

I am swimming for two, walking for two, yoga-ing for two, and definitely eating for two, but I’m to the point now where running for two is out of the question. 

It’s my back.  Out of no where pain that made each step painful.  Is it the position of the baby?  An old injury flair up?  A combination of the two? 

Who knows? 

But the pain was bad enough that I pulled the running plug two weeks after the I Love Mother’s Day 5k

I’m happy that I was able to run pain and injury free until 23 weeks pregnant, and I’m even happier that I have the sport of swimming (and yoga and spinning) to keep me occupied for the next 3.5 months. 

So last week, I dusted off my goggles and found my old, “fat” swim suit, and dove head first back into the pool.  I managed to complete 4 swim workouts and a day of yoga/spinning.  I also had two back to back rest days thrown in. 

I even joined some friends for a swim practice where I felt like Dara Torres making a pregnant comeback.   We swam around 3,000 meters, and I was moving and a grooving in the pool.  I joked with the coach when he would say, “and do this set fast” that I had only one speed and it’s called, “pregnant.”  I enjoyed the team practice, the “push” of swimming with others, and the camaraderie.  Next time though, I’ll be taking it a bit easier.  I’m not going after Olympic records here. 

For those days when I’m in the pool alone, I like to have my workouts planned.  The National Training Center in Clermont, FL posts almost daily workouts for A, B, and C swim groups on their blog.  Definitely check out their site if you’d like some swim workout inspiration. 

Since I like to spend around 45 minutes in the pool these days, I’m sticking to the C group workouts.  Here are a few sets that I did this week:

600 warm up (200 swim/100 kick x 2)
400 (50 kick/50 pull/100 swim x 2)
9×50 w/:10 rest (descend 1-3, 4-6, 7-9)
1×50 easy
4×150 pull w/:20 rest
4×50 with paddles only w/:30 rest (FAST!!!!)
300 cool down (50 kick/50 non-free/50 free x 2)
*2600 Total*

400 choice warm up
2×300 w/:30 rest (50 kick/100 swim, repeat)
3×200 pull w/:20 rest (strong effort)
3×150 w/:20 rest (50 free/50 non-free/50 free)
4×100 swim w/:15 rest (descend 1-4)
100 cool down
*2600 total*

600 warm up (100 swim/50 kick, repeat)
4×100 w/:30 rest (25 drill/25 swim, repeat)
300 pull (3/5 breathing pattern by 50)
6×50 pull w/:15 rest (1 FAST, 1 easy)
3xDown/Out/Over w/:60 rest
300 (25 kick/25 drill/25 swim, repeat)
100 cool down
*2500 Total*

And in case your curious, here is the latest pregnancy progression photos from 9 weeks to 24 weeks.  Today, I’m 25 weeks pregnant. Holy Shit.

 

And today is the first day that I woke up without back pain.  I just knocked on some wood (and now Lucky is barking like crazy). 

Be well,
Carolyn

8 Comments

Filed under Life, Pregnancy

8 responses to “Swimming for Two

  1. You look beautiful! All the exercise is so good for you, especially pregnant. Great post.

  2. I have got to learn what all of those swimming workouts mean. I just learned to swim 2 years ago when training for my first sprint tri. I am still slow (it would easily take me 1:15 to swim 2500 yds). I have some swim workouts, but I don’t know what they all mean! And just swimming 1000-1250 yds in a pool can get boring.

    My tri team just started training again this weekend. Gonna miss this year.

    • Marcia,
      Yes, all that swim jargon gets confusing when you are new to the sport, but once you get it, you got it. I’m missing TRI season too. Boo.
      Carolyn

  3. You look great Carolyn!!! I can’t believe you’re 25 weeks already! Time flies! 🙂

    • Well, It does and it doesn’t. I kinda feel like I’ve been pregnant for awhile, but then again, the baby will be here before I know it and we don’t even have plans for the nursery. The thing is, I’m totally not stressing.

  4. Mary Rose

    You are awesome!!!!!!

  5. You look so fabulous!! xo

Leave a Reply

