Vegan Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Muffins

I’ve been a cooking machine. With 8 days until the big due date, I’ve been stocking the freezer with casseroles, lasagna, soups and muffins. I even made a huge pot of rice to freeze and have on hand for easy stir fries, salads, or as a side.

Some one stop me. My back hurts.

This muffin recipe was inspired by one found on The Whipped Blog. A simple google search for who knows what led me there. I’m not a seasoned baker, and definitely not a seasoned vegan baker, but after making five or so different muffins this week, I’ve grown somewhat confident in my abilities to tinker with things. I took some major liberties on the original recipe. They turned out so good, I made two more batches.

Enjoy!

20120916-190958.jpg

Vegan Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins
Yield: 12 muffins (or 24 mini-muffins)

1 cup canned or fresh pureed pumpkin
1/2 cup unsweetened soy milk
1/4 cup unsweetened apple sauce
2 tablespoon ground flax seeds
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup whole wheat flour
2/3 cup unbleached white flour
1 cup lite brown sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon each: baking soda, salt
1 tablespoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
1/3 cup chopped pecans or walnut – optional
3 teaspoons raw sugar – optional

Heat oven 350.

Blend Pumpkin, Soy milk, Applesauce, Flax Seeds and Vanilla until well blended. Set aside.

Mix together flours, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, salt and pumpkin pie spice in a large bowl. Add pumpkin mixture, and stir until well blended (add a little soy milk if mixture seems too dry).

Fold in Chocolate Chips and nuts if you are using them.

Spoon into greased muffin tins and top with raw sugar if using it.

Bake 28 minutes.

10 Comments

Filed under Baked Goods

10 responses to “Vegan Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Muffins

  1. Wow, those look delish!

    Congrats…getting close! Remember, sleep when the baby sleeps!

    • It seems like I’ve been pregnant forever, only because of all the careful preparation and baby research I’ve done. I’m all about naps, so I do hope to sleep when the baby does.

      Thanks Marcia!

  2. Tasha

    Yay for all the cooking and baking you are doing now. It’s going to be so helpful for when the baby gets here. I’m excited for you that you are so close now.
    And these muffin look delicious. I know B would love them!

  3. Steph

    YUM! I love the combo of pumpkin and chocolate!

  4. I tried your muffins over the weekend, they turned out great, thanks.

  5. Pingback: Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins |

  6. These muffins are so good! I just made them with my 3 year old. Thank you for sharing!

  7. This looks delicious!
    I wanted to let you know that I nominated you for the Liebster award. πŸ™‚
    – Stacey
    http://healthyhappyhippie.com/post/36998503332/liebster

  8. Happy Pumpkin Day! These look superyumful…you are a fabulous baker of vegan muffins. πŸ™‚
    Thanks for sharing the recipe!

Leave a Reply

