San Francisco Celebrates

Hello San Francisco

20120628-232535.jpg

Hello Third Trimester

20120628-232617.jpg

I spent the past few days enjoying the cool, sunny weather that’s an anomaly in San Francisco for this time of year. I just so happened to time my trip with that of the Pride Parade, so I spent part of Sunday scoping that scene.

20120628-232813.jpg

Everyone was full if love and I overheard the most interesting conversations.

Since I arrived early, early Sunday morning, I had a full day to explore. I trekked over 8 miles by foot, ate at some great restaurants, saw the parade, got a Thai massage, got some new shades, and just enjoyed the local neighborhoods and shops.

First up, the Plant Cafe at Pier 9 on the Embarcadero. I always run past this place, but I’d never been. I hit up their brunch, but got the veggie burger. It was so much food, but I was hungry so I thought it was a good bang for the buck.

20120628-233256.jpg

The burger had beets in it which resembled a rare burger at first site. It was delicious none the less and quite filling. I tried my best to eat it all, but I just couldn’t do it. The bread was the first item I ditched to make room for the other goodies.

The carrot-apple-ginger-lemon juice was the perfect morning detox. Followed by a cookie for the road. 😉

Next up, was the parade and lots of colorful people!

20120628-233549.jpg

I walked along market street and took in the sites and sounds, and then I made a break for it. I left my shades at home, and wouldn’t you know, it was like the sunniest day in the history of San Fran. Not really, but it felt like it. Maybe it was all the pasty flesh that was exposed during the parade that made everything seem so bright.

Also i left the most important piece of exercise equipment at home- the sports bra, so I had to pick up one of those too.

I went for some retro Ray Bans in brown with polarized lenses. I feel like a hipster when I wear them.

Next up, I headed over to the Nob Hill/Russian Hill hood. I love the cafes and shops around Polk Street. My feet were about to fall off, so I popped in for a Thai foot massage. The only problem was that I could not relax. I was laying on my back and couldn’t stop thinking about how pregnant women shouldn’t lay on their backs or they will compress their nerve, this, that, or another. Le sigh. I was being dramatic. It was for 30 minutes.

I also thought about how I could get a 90 minute massage in my Thai village for less than $3. Yes, that’s no mistake. $3. That’s enough to make me move back. And I’m not being dramatic here.

A quick snapshot from San Francisco Street I think. I tried to avoid the hills as best I could, but I got stuck climbing to the top.

20120628-234328.jpg

I trekked back towards Union Square and stopped at the park to put my feet up and enjoy the weather.

Dinner was a Somavar Tea in Yerba Buena Gardens. I got the Japanese Tea Service.

20120628-234529.jpg

I am a big fan of the Yerba Buena Preforming Arts Center next door. I’ve seen some really cool and really bizarre films and dance performances there. The last few trips though haven’t aligned with any good shows.

What are your favorite San Francisco neighborhoods to explore?

Be well,
Carolyn

8 Comments

Filed under Life, Pregnancy

8 responses to “San Francisco Celebrates

  1. I haven’t done a whole lot of exploring in San Fran. We’ve got friends in the area, so we usually go and hang out with them. I spent some time in the financial district on a business trip this time last year. We drove up for Spring Break and went to Coit tower (started at the pier and hiked up the stairs…and I was also in my 3rd trimester!) Didn’t walk nearly as far as you did though.

    I have a friend who lives a few blocks off the ocean too.

    Most of our “Bay Area” time is actually spent in Mountain View, not SF.

  2. Mary Rose

    You look fantastic. Won’t be long now!
    I would love to go on a “food” trip with you. Although I am not a vegetarian, we eat a lot of meatless meals & your always sound so wonderful. Love to the 3 of you!

  3. Ahh, you look so cute!! Pregnancy definitely agrees with you! Looks like you had a lot of fun over in San Fran, I’ve never been that far west.

  4. jlablueeyes

    That food looks amazing! I’ve always wanted to go to San Fran, this fuels that fire 🙂

  5. Congrats dear. My daughter is about 22 weeks pregnant and she enjoys all the good SF food. In India we make a mean green dish for pregnancy – try it out. It’s a good 3rd trimester food. Dill, Kale, & Chard Sabji Recipe: http://wp.me/p1jwFi-cV

Leave a comment